Windows 2000 security

Runes911

Golden Member
Dec 6, 2000
Ok heres the story, I am about to colocate a box I have and want to know what else I need to do to keep it secure. I am running windows 2000 with service pack 3, fresh install I put norton antivirus on it. I will use it as a file/game server. Anyone know of anything else I should do? Do I need firewall software on it? I am new to colocation is there anything else I should know? Also I am running Remote Administrator so I can control it remotely. RA website Forgive me if this should be in the software group instead of OS.

NogginBoink

Diamond Member
Feb 17, 2002
Start with basic measures:

-change the Administrator's username
-disable the Guest account
-choose a strong password for your renamed administrator account
-disable any services you don't need
-visit Windows Update and apply the latest fixes
-uninstall anything not needed on the machine

Cover the basics before you get into the more detailed stuff.

Securing any machine is not an easy task, and the price you have to pay is eternal vigilance. But your best bet is to shut everything off that you don't need. If you're running IIS, edit your site properties to be as restrictive as possible. Etc.

DAM

Diamond Member
Jan 10, 2000
sp3? wtf? wth did that come from? hmm, i would say your first mistake was installing sp3 (specially since it's not official)

dam()

NogginBoink

Diamond Member
Feb 17, 2002
I agree with DAM.

Why anyone would install beta/prerelease software on a production box is beyond me.

Poontos

Platinum Member
Mar 9, 2000
Originally posted by: Runes911