WIN2K- Setting Up User Profiles/Restrcitions and the works

abracadabra1

Diamond Member
Nov 18, 1999
hey there fellas.
wondering if you could help guide me or better yet, point me in any direction where i can find information on win2k script writing, already written scripts and guides how to set this baby up and tweak her.
also, most importantly, i need to find information on setting up user profiles/restrictions and the rest of those administrative goodies win2k's able to do.
any help is greatly appreciated- thx!

GT1999

Diamond Member
Oct 10, 1999
Well, I'm not much of a script guy, but I do know how to set up the User Profiles and passwords for Win2000. I've had a lot of experience with it and I'll spill the most important stuff here.

First of all, are you going to have multiple computers with the same User Profiles? If not, skip this paragraph. :) The best thing to do in this situation is to have one of the computers to do the domain logging (WINS server). You will add the WINS server's IP address into all of the computer's network setting (LAN connection -> Advanced.. WINS server: IP address). From there you will need to enter the users in the Username and Password manager for domains on the WINS server. Note that you'll need a Server operating system for all of this, such as NT 4.0 Server, or Win2000 Adv. Server.