Will this tree survive?

KrillBee

Golden Member
Nov 17, 2005
I am not sure if there are very many landscapers here, but today I had a relative that was helping me remove some small trees in my yard. He made a mistake and started to cut down a tree that I did not want him to remove. He was using a non-electric tree saw and cut about halfway into a tree that was 18 inches in diameter before I realized what was going on and yelled at him to stop.

Will this tree survive even though half of it has been cut into?

Oct 27, 2007
Hmm I'm no expert but trees are surprisingly hardy, I'd say it has a good chance of surviving just fine. What kind of tree?

Taejin

Moderator<br>Love & Relationships
Aug 29, 2004
halfway? ick..probably got into the heartwood, i'd say its going to die.

Brigandier

Diamond Member
Feb 12, 2008
I am not sure if there are very many landscapers here, but today I had a relative that was helping me remove some small trees in my yard. He made a mistake and started to cut down a tree that I did not want him to remove. He was using a non-electric tree saw and cut about halfway into a tree that was 18 inches in diameter before I realized what was going on and yelled at him to stop.

Will this tree survive even though half of it has been cut into?

If you actually want that tree to survive, wrap and compress where you cut, just like on a human. It may die, but you also may be to save it.

Taejin

Moderator<br>Love & Relationships
Aug 29, 2004
Heartwood is dead, isn't it?

you're right, I thought that heartwood had a critical function, but apparently its only really structural. anyways, since he's cut basically half the bloodflow off the tree, wouldn't it be more likely to die?

Brigandier

Diamond Member
Feb 12, 2008
If you actually want that tree to survive, wrap and compress where you cut, just like on a human. It may die, but you also may be to save it.