Will this graphics card run on my motherboard

Discussion in 'Motherboards' started by georgesampo1997, Dec 5, 2017.

  1. georgesampo1997

    georgesampo1997 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I used speccy to find out my specs on my mother board, it is a foxconn model 2ADA version 1.0
    Specs for pci are
    Slot type PCI
    Data lanes 16x
    Slot designation PCI express x16 slot
    Characteristics 3.3V, shared, PME

    I bought NVIDIA GEFORCE GTX960

    How much performance will I lose or will it even be compatible? Thanks in advance ive been trying to find out all day.
     
  2. Loading...


  3. EXCellR8

    EXCellR8 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2010
    Messages:
    1,636
    Likes Received:
    283
    it's physically compatible, but overall performance will be determined by your CPU type and speed as well as what you'll be using the card for and what OS. you may also need to upgrade your power supply in order to run the card with adequate power.

    these are typically the things to consider before buying a graphics card
     
  4. georgesampo1997

    georgesampo1997 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its for total warhammer 2 it beats the recommended specs but im unsure if my motherboard will take it, by speed what do you mean? Also my cpu doesnt have a fan but ive brought one so should help, thanks for reply
     
  5. Campy

    Campy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    27
    It will work. It's impossible to say whether or not you will lose any performance without knowing the rest of your components. What is your cpu/mobo/ram setup?
     
    georgesampo1997 likes this.
  6. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    14,439
    Likes Received:
    810
    It's fine. Stop worrying about squeezing every erg of performance out of every possible hypothetical. You'll just go nuts. Install your card and play your game.

    That said, if your PSU isn't beefy enough to support that card, you're going to have a bad time.
     
    georgesampo1997 likes this.
  7. Campy

    Campy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    27
    If the PSU has a pci-e connector it will more than likely be able to support the 960. It's not exactly a power hungry card.
     
    georgesampo1997 likes this.
  8. dave_the_nerd

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2011
    Messages:
    14,439
    Likes Received:
    810
    No it's not, that's true. But sometimes you'll get weird or undersized PSUs in OEM boxes. So you check.
     
    georgesampo1997 likes this.
  9. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Super Moderator
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    38,886
    Likes Received:
    2,135
    That said about the PSU, my recent Wal-Mart special i5-7400 / GTX1060 3GB, has a PSU from Lite-On, rated 300W on the label, and has TWO PCI-E 6-pin connectors! Amazing... (The pre-installed GTX1060 3GB card uses one of them, but I was quite honestly surprised to see a second one, given the PSU's 300W rating. Then again, the CPU probably takes 50W or less, even on full-load.)
     
    georgesampo1997 likes this.
  10. georgesampo1997

    georgesampo1997 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I understand that graphics cards always work on old computers as long as they have the correct PCI which mine already has ? So should be fine, thanks
     
  11. georgesampo1997

    georgesampo1997 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    My motherboard says it has 4 different places where you can insert the graphics card, I saw the computer is made around 2012, graphics card is 2015, so I really shouldn't have much of a problem, I'm not fussed about it looking super good, its just my old graphics card was running so low that's all, my ram it says is only 3020mb (ingame) but then on speccy it says different?
     
  12. LTC8K6

    LTC8K6 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    869
    Not talking about the slots on the motherboard, in case it was not clear.

    Talking about the connectors from your power supply for the video card.

    The GTX960 likely needs to be plugged in to your power supply with a 6 pin, or possibly an 8 pin, connector.

    Here you can see an 8 pin power supply socket on a GTX960 card:

    http://www.legitreviews.com/wp-content/uploads/2015/09/evga-gtx960-ssc-power.jpg
     
  13. LTC8K6

    LTC8K6 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    869
  14. Campy

    Campy Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    27
    As far as I'm aware all PCI-E versions are inter-compatible, and you can put a new graphics card in an old motherboard, or an old graphics card in a new motherboard. Both scenarios should work fine as long as there is a graphics driver available for the operating system being used.

    In your case your graphics card will be operating with an older standard of PCI-E which means that it has less bandwidth to communicate with the CPU. I googled your motherboard and it has a PCI-E version 2.0 x16 slot. This is more than plenty for a GTX 960.
     
    georgesampo1997 likes this.
  15. LTC8K6

    LTC8K6 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    869
    It's plenty for a GTX 1080Ti as well.

    The real question with the 960 is his power supply.
     
    Campy and georgesampo1997 like this.
  16. georgesampo1997

    georgesampo1997 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you for that reply I am going to take apart my PC and have a look what the slot looks like.
     
  17. georgesampo1997

    georgesampo1997 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2017
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I assume I need to have a look inside my cpu to determine what my power supply is? And if it fits it?
     
  18. LTC8K6

    LTC8K6 Lifer

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2004
    Messages:
    25,756
    Likes Received:
    869
    You need to see what power connector your GTX960 has, and then see if your power supply has that plug. If your power supply has the plug, you're fine. If not, you will need to figure out an adapter.