Why is my windows 8 HTPC so slow?

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Onceler, Jan 17, 2013.

  1. Onceler

    Onceler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    From transfer from a windows 7 PC over 1Gbps ethernet I am getting like 1MBps, it only occurs on this computer all others on my network work fine.
    I am not sure if it is because the boot SSD is a Kingston(pre trim) or not, I installed a 3TB hard drive last night to serve as a data drive.
    My transfers shouldn't be this slow, does anyone know what it could be?
    I am not using a homegroup.
     
  2. Fardringle

    Fardringle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    4
    Try a different cable. While it certainly could be caused by other things, the vast majority of network speed issues are caused by bad cables, and the cable is the easiest thing to test.
     
  3. Onceler

    Onceler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried different cables. Same thing. It downloads from the internet fast enough it is just the home network with this PC that is so slow.
     
  4. Fardringle

    Fardringle Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2000
    Messages:
    7,991
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just to clarify, when you get the slow transfer speeds, is that when sending files to other computers from the HTPC, or when copying files from other computers to the HTPC, or both? (I.E. is it only slow in one direction?)
     
  5. Onceler

    Onceler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is slow both ways.
     
  6. nsafreak

    nsafreak Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2001
    Messages:
    7,079
    Likes Received:
    1
    This is odd, care to describe how your home network is structured and how your HTPC figures into it?
     
  7. Onceler

    Onceler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    The network is a 1Gbps ethernet, cat6 wire, routed through a dlink DIR-655 router hooked up to a DSL modem.
    There are 2 8 port switches and 2 5 port.
    I have tried different ports with no luck. I am thinking that it is somehow the SSD in the HTPC as transfers to the hard drive from the SSD is very slow 1MBps.
    I will try it with another SSD soon.
     
  8. Emulex

    Emulex Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2001
    Messages:
    9,759
    Likes Received:
    0
    disable flow control on nic!
    disable ipv6 on nic!
    ensure you are gigabit auto (no wiring issues).
    disable firewall if possible (disable the service). if not safe, leave it

    do not hook pc's up to router direct, always front with gigabit switches, on UPS. make sure they are lit to gigabit - some freak out on power loss and drop to 10 or 100 or half duplex (not auto) and it causes massive packet loss. some nic's can do this too. power down and restart of pc and nic usually fixes that. or use a decent switch.
     
  9. AnonymouseUser

    AnonymouseUser Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2003
    Messages:
    9,281
    Likes Received:
    3
    Transfer a file from the HDD over the network. If it's faster than from the SSD, then it's not a networking issue.
     
  10. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hell just run crystaldisk on the SSD. 1MB/s is less than 10 megabits. If the SSD benches faster, the SSD isn't the problem. Also run something like iperf on the network.
     
  11. dagamer34

    dagamer34 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2005
    Messages:
    2,592
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try enabling jumbo frames?
     
  12. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    That won't fix it.
     
  13. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    0
    This may be the problem. Do you have AHCI enabled in BIOS? Chipset drivers installed?
     
  14. Onceler

    Onceler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    I changed the SSD in it and it now transfers @ 10.2 MBps much better but I think it should be faster than this. W8 apparently uses the boot drive as some kind of buffer even though I have virual memory disabled.
     
  15. Onceler

    Onceler Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2008
    Messages:
    1,264
    Likes Received:
    0
    anyone got any ideas besides the ones listed above(they did not work)?
     
  16. Vectronic

    Vectronic Senior member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2013
    Messages:
    489
    Likes Received:
    0
    10.2MB is about 100Mbit... does anything else on the network top that? (within 1.5MB).

    If not, are you sure everything is GBit?

    If they do, try setting the NIC in the HTPC and Desktop to GBit (Full duplex), rather than auto negotiate.
     
  17. imagoon

    imagoon Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    5,199
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't seen you post the crystaldisk / iperf stuff yet. Run iperf from one machine to the other.