Why doesn't my DVI cable fit into my motherboard DVI port? (A guide, with pics)

Discussion in 'Peripherals' started by VirtualLarry, Mar 28, 2012.

  1. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,727
    Likes Received:
    91
    I'm posting this thread so that future inquiries of this type might be able to figure out what's up.

    I also took some pictures.

    Someone had an FM1 ITX board with a DVI port, and a DVI monitor, and a DVI cable. And they wouldn't work together.

    Well, as it turns out, there are different types of DVI ports and cables.

    Here's a good reference site:
    http://www.datapro.net/techinfo/dvi_info.html

    The most common, are DVI-I ports on video cards, and on motherboards that have both VGA, DVI, and HDMI, the DVI port is usually DVI-D.

    Well, if you are using a DVI-I cable, it WILL NOT plug into a DVI-D port without an adaptor.

    This is because the DVI-I cable has four pins around the "blade" for the analog video signals, and the DVI-D connector on the motherboard lacks those sockets and signals, so you can't plug it in.

    You must use a DVI-D cable (more common) to plug into a DVI-D connector on a mobo.
    You can also plug a DVI-D cable into a DVI-I port.

    Here's some pictures:
    1) Mobo with DVI-D port. Note no sockets around the "blade" part of the connector.
    [​IMG]

    2) Video card with DVI-I port. Note the sockets around the "blade" part of the connector.
    [​IMG]

    3) DVI-D single-link cable. Note the lack of pins around the "blade".
    [​IMG]

    Sorry, I don't own a DVI-I cable to show you a picture of.
     
    #1 VirtualLarry, Mar 28, 2012
    Last edited: Mar 28, 2012
  2. Rackmountsales

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2009
    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    0
    Your port will probably be female thus you'll need to get a male DVI-D cable. If your port is male then get the female DVI-D. A female port will have just the holes, ready to be plugged into. A male port will have just the pins, ready to plug into something - Lol! Getting a little explicit here, if your monitor looks blank after you've connected the cables, you probably need to click something in your display/screen resolution properties window. For example in windows 7, I had to click "Detect" in the screen resolution properties windows, before my extended monitor showed up. I hope this helps.
     
  3. SonicIce

    SonicIce Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2004
    Messages:
    4,774
    Likes Received:
    0
    u can prolly break the pins off the cable
     
  4. Modelworks

    Modelworks Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2007
    Messages:
    16,237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, done it several times.
     
  5. videogames101

    videogames101 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2005
    Messages:
    6,768
    Likes Received:
    1
    is it the housing thats interfering?
     
Loading...