Why do some techy people think Android is a better OS than iOS?

Cancer12

Nov 30, 2001
My Droid X is long in the tooth, so I've been eagerly awaiting today's announcement. I'm jealous of my friend's iphone and will likely get the iphone 5, but today I noticed that the overwhelming theme of the messages from normal people on tech sites is that they consider Android to be the superior OS, while iOS has stagnated. My version of Android is old, and I liked it for awhile, but it has definitely slowed down over time.

I know this is the Apple forum, but why do some people consider Android to be superior? I have no experience with it and don't understant what would make one OS better than another.

akshatp

Diamond Member
Oct 15, 1999
Because they want to be different.
Because they bought an Android phone and have buyers pride.
Because they are stupid.
Because they are haters.

Need more reasons? :)

ViviTheMage

Lifer
Dec 12, 2002
madgenius.com
fanboys, shrug....I think all 3 are good OS's, iOS, droid, and Windows ... I just prefer iOS and am invested in the app's. I also try to play with a new droid/windows phone every few months to keep up to date with them, but every time I am just happy to be back on my trust iOS interface. It's just so smooth.

My facebook was plastered with people bitching about how apple is 1-2 years behind, droid had this in 2.1, etc, etc...but the thing is, Apple isn't about being ahead of hte curve every single time...they're about polish...and my god do they polish products well.

Red Storm

Lifer
Oct 2, 2005
Android offers more choice and puts more "power" in the hands of the user, and that includes its own host of pros and cons. Apple reigns it in more, so you could say the minimum quality level is higher, but the "ceiling" is also lower, and that has its own set of pros and cons. Whichever works better for you is the OS you will like more.