Why do I have so many scars? Why don't they heal invisibly?

MichaelD

Lifer
Jan 16, 2001
I know that if you have surgery or suffer some major trauma (i.e. sliced by a knife) you're going to have a scar. Fine, I have a few of those.

But what about from VERY minor cuts and scrapes?

I'm a sys admin/network guy; I've always got my hands/arms/upper body inside some server rack or under a raised floor. I get cuts on the listed body parts all the time. They heal quickly, but leave pinkish scars/different colored skin. This happens particularly on my hands. :(

Why is this?

L

Lola

Do you pick the scabs off before they fall off on their own? do you ever use neosporin on them?
If you pick the scab off, that will lead to scars. If you want to try and stop it from happening, put a dollop of neosporin ointment on it.

MichaelD

Lifer
Jan 16, 2001
Originally posted by: LolaWiz
Do you pick the scabs off before they fall off on their own? do you ever use neosporin on them?
If you pick the scab off, that will lead to scars. If you want to try and stop it from happening, put a dollop of neosporin ointment on it.

Nope, I leave the scabs on until they fall off by themselves...gross, I know, but it's the best way.

Unfortunately, I think Moshquerade may have it right. :( Damn. This did NOT used to happen.

RollWave

Diamond Member
May 20, 2003
get some straight vitamin E capsules and break em open. Pour it on the wounds. It should help.

BD2003

Lifer
Oct 9, 1999
Originally posted by: MichaelD
I know that if you have surgery or suffer some major trauma (i.e. sliced by a knife) you're going to have a scar. Fine, I have a few of those.

I'm a sys admin/network guy; I've always got my hands/arms/upper body inside some server rack or under a raised floor. I get cuts on the listed body parts all the time. They heal quickly, but leave pinkish scars/different colored skin. This happens particularly on my hands. :(

Why is this?

Do the scars continue to grow after they've formed?