Whos Wifi am I picking up???

Kennyc

May 4, 2004
I just got a wireless card and I hooked it up and just for the hell of it I tried to see if I could get service without the router just straight from some one elses signal (heard to much that it was easy): )

I picked connect and I used default settings and picked use any available network in settings. this is what I get
ip address 192.168.0.104
subnetmask 255.255.255.0
other ip address is 192.168.0.1

I want to let the person know I am picking up his signal but I have no idea how to do it I think its my neighbor he owns a computer store and he is a good guy I really would like to let him know if it is
can signals go far like miles far?? I am new to this and just wondering too if I do my system will someone else pick up my signal??

kamper

Diamond Member
Mar 18, 2003
Good job shutting down the people that are trying to help you genius. I think what he means is: are you surrounded by other buildings that could potentially have wifi or are your house and this computer shop the only buildings for miles?

jcrapps

May 16, 2004
I get WIFI signals from my neighbors. Just use it! THat's what I do. If you're so worried about taking his signal, then knock on his door and let him know that his network is not secure. No, the conventional signal CANNOT go for miles. It can be measured in feet. Don't know for sure.

azkiwi

Oct 1, 2000
This is an increasingly common scenario - most likely it is your most immediate neighbor, just walls away.

The ip is a standard home network adress. Unless you are hacking his network and reading his files, be quiet and be happy. If you become overburdened with guilt, stop using it. Either way is unlikely to make much difference to him.

Kennyc

May 4, 2004
I am surrounded by homes probably about 100-150ft apart and there are about 6 of them