Who's in IT and doesn't like it?

wheresmybacon

Diamond Member
Sep 10, 2004
Personally I really like my job in the IT field, but I know there are people on this board that don't. If you're in IT and don't like it, post here and tell us why you don't.

I'm lucky enough to have a wide variety of things I'm responsible for, but I guess I can see how if someone is pigeon-holed into a very specific monotonous task I'd hate it too...

Chaotic42

Lifer
Jun 15, 2001
I'll sum up my thoughts.

Like:
-Fairly high pay
-Not overly difficult
-Easy to find help

Dislike:
-Tons of overtime
-Fairly repetative work
-IT can be very isolated from the other parts of the company
-Often on call
-Lots of "little things" that can break easily
-Job security may be an issue

Electric Amish

Elite Member
Oct 11, 1999
-IT can be very isolated from the other parts of the company

That should be in the "Like" column. ;)

The best thing is that I'm an admin on my computer and I can do what I want. I hate being a "user" and not having any permissions. :)

OutHouse

Lifer
Jun 5, 2000
Originally posted by: Electric Amish
Like any job, it has it good and bad days.

yip and lately there have been more bad days than good. last month during my pager rotation i almost threw my pager out in the street. for all but 1 night i got paged for stupid systems issues atleast twice in the middle of the night.

we have over 250 servers and stuff like that will happen from time to time.

lokiju

Lifer
May 29, 2003
You need a poll and I've been in IT to make a living since '97 and personally have begun to hate it.

It's gotta be one of the most thankless jobs out there.

Plus the whole everyone and their mother asking for free help all the damn time, like say while you're eating, getting to your car to go home after a long day of work, etc..