Whom is still rocking an Athlon / Phenom II (even X6), or a Core2Duo/Quad? X58 users too.

Page 12 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
542
133
76
Windows ME?
Dang. Now that is getting thrown in the deep end... :D

Always preferred 2K whenever possible, 98SE if not.
You add in the fact he refused to get rid of his AOL dial up when AT&T dsl and a 1.5mb/local home deal was costing me $21 out the door had me shaking my head. He was paying like $10 maybe for his deal? Then we found out how much fun ME was about ram upgrades, going for a 1gb Rambus deal i guess broke ME. I had a crash course in figuring out how the continuity sticks work as well. Luckily Vista was why he got the ram upgrade and ME was drop kicked. Not that he was balling all of a sudden, but the lovely bsod with ME wasn't a issue no more.

I do remember during the same time hugging XP for dear life cause i was having worst experiences with Vista. My neighbors software required Vista or else we would have put put XP on there without thinking twice.
 

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
542
133
76
Software required Vista? What a headache.
According him, Photoshop CS4 did and this was for a class he was doing. The guy was cheap and when he got both the ram upgrade and a copy of Vista i am sure he did his homework . Checking out the requirements i guess it did support Xp but perhaps there is some features that required Vista? He claimed he had other stuff for the classes that required it too but didn't go much into detail on that.

Thinking about it today maybe for once he wanted to be ahead of curve os wise and well why not? Or just maybe he seriously did need Vista cause of some requirement. Getting XP perhaps in late 2008 made no sense anyways.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Mloot

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,627
395
126
You add in the fact he refused to get rid of his AOL dial up when AT&T dsl and a 1.5mb/local home deal was costing me $21 out the door had me shaking my head. He was paying like $10 maybe for his deal? Then we found out how much fun ME was about ram upgrades, going for a 1gb Rambus deal i guess broke ME. I had a crash course in figuring out how the continuity sticks work as well. Luckily Vista was why he got the ram upgrade and ME was drop kicked. Not that he was balling all of a sudden, but the lovely bsod with ME wasn't a issue no more.
"Fun" times indeed. :D

Windows 9x always had that "bug" with more then 512MB RAM. From what I remember you had to tweak a couple of settings manually, or it wouldn't boot.

I do remember during the same time hugging XP for dear life cause i was having worst experiences with Vista. My neighbors software required Vista or else we would have put put XP on there without thinking twice.
Vista pre-SP2 was pretty terrible, particularly on machines with low RAM and/or integrated graphics. It helped a good deal to disable Aero, forcing Windows to use the old GDI+ compositor.

Vista SP2 was almost indistinguishable from 7. It even got DirectX 11 with an update.
 

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
542
133
76
Vista pre-SP2 was pretty terrible, particularly on machines with low RAM and/or integrated graphics. It helped a good deal to disable Aero, forcing Windows to use the old GDI+ compositor.

Vista SP2 was almost indistinguishable from 7. It even got DirectX 11 with an update.
I thought Aero was so nice and shiny though when it first came out. :cool: I did get over the shiny look pretty fast and ever since then even to this day have made it a habit to disable Aero. Alternatively i had a bit of fun with Ubuntu and Beryl but eventually just stuck to Xp till i jumped back to Vista after SP2 came out. By then i had a i7 940, 6gb of ram and a gtx295 on a 300gb Raptor. Oh yeah Vista then was a very respectable os.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Insert_Nickname

adlep

Diamond Member
Mar 25, 2001
5,285
5
81
HP Z400 User here (x58 chipset based). I have totally upgraded this workstation with liquid cooling, 24GB of PC31333, GTX 1080, USB 3.0 card, Gen 3 SATA card and last but not least Xeon W3690 (6 cored). I am getting a score of 4000 in the superposition benchmark at 1080p extreme. The setup feels super solid and fast, runs anything I throw at it with nothinig but a burp. Found it in a dumpster...
 

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
542
133
76
HP Z400 User here (x58 chipset based). I have totally upgraded this workstation with liquid cooling, 24GB of PC31333, GTX 1080, USB 3.0 card, Gen 3 SATA card and last but not least Xeon W3690 (6 cored). I am getting a score of 4000 in the superposition benchmark at 1080p extreme. The setup feels super solid and fast, runs anything I throw at it with nothinig but a burp. Found it in a dumpster...
Whats with people tossing out such good stuff? Last year i found a Leveno Thinkpad sitting on a curb with a utterly destroyed XBOX next to it. Forgot the model but it had a second generation i5 in it with 4gb of ram. Minus a key missing and one of the usb ports looking like Wolverine went at it in frustration, it worked perfectly fine once i put in a 2.5 drive and since i had a few of those already including a 60gb ssd it was a pretty respectable laptop. Ended up giving it to my wifes cousin and he was able to play some Runescape on it.
 

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
542
133
76
I am curious for a 1080p desktop how bad off a gtx960 will be bottlenecked by the 8350 if at all? I scored a $40 4gb 960 this evening locally as a hold me over till i upgrade my main in September. With a new power supply coming tomorrow, the 8350 will be prime time ready for gaming in September. Got my main a new psu so putting the old into the 8350 deal.

The 8350 tower will play Black Ops 1-2, Doom 2016 with some BF3/BF4 as well. Might toss in Rocket League too. Maybe toss on GTA V. Pretty much any game that doesn't give the finger to the 8350 or the 8gb.
 

Captante

Lifer
Oct 20, 2003
13,643
202
106
I am curious for a 1080p desktop how bad off a gtx960 will be bottlenecked by the 8350 if at all? I scored a $40 4gb 960 this evening locally as a hold me over till i upgrade my main in September. With a new power supply coming tomorrow, the 8350 will be prime time ready for gaming in September. Got my main a new psu so putting the old into the 8350 deal.

The 8350 tower will play Black Ops 1-2, Doom 2016 with some BF3/BF4 as well. Might toss in Rocket League too. Maybe toss on GTA V. Pretty much any game that doesn't give the finger to the 8350 or the 8gb.

Sounds like it would be pretty evenly matched.

As I mentioned previously I'm currently running a GTX-980 in my 8350 box and although I'm pretty sure its being bottle-necked at least a little by the CPU, I noticed a significant FPS increase going from the identical setup with a GTX-770. *(equal to or slightly faster then a 960)

One note I do have 32gb's DDR3-1866 installed which most likely doesn't matter a lot game-wise.
 

mopardude87

Senior member
Oct 22, 2018
542
133
76
Sounds like it would be pretty evenly matched.

One note I do have 32gb's DDR3-1866 installed which most likely doesn't matter a lot game-wise.
I think your right and perhaps outside of adding large amounts of msaa or enabling very demanding settings like ultra grass in GTA V, under realistic settings its very likely going to be a fair match up.

Not gonna put anything else into it, the 2080 Super or 5700XT i get either next month or September certainly won't be going into any of my friends computers when it gets upgraded. Given my 1070ti experience at 1080p i wouldn't pair anything outside of a 1070 into a i5 4 core or 8350 or similar AMD.

This 8350 is paired with 1600 memory, given the motherboards cheap nature i may underclock the chip as with these type of motherboards most suggest nothing outside of a 8320e. Got to see what voltage and clock to set to. Got the power supply in and the build is in a Corsair Carbide 400c. still gonna have to deal with its hd3000 as a htpc option a bit longer till the 960 goes in there :p
 

waltchan

Senior member
Feb 27, 2015
838
8
81
I still have my Phenom II X2 570 that can be overclocked up to 4.3 GHz max at 1.53V. I plan to upgrade to FX-4300 when prices (depreciate) to less than $10 shipped.
 

Shmee

Memory and Storage, Graphics Cards
Super Moderator
Sep 13, 2008
3,904
287
126
I have a 939 board still with a 4400+ and 2GB DDR. Used it as a linux miner, it has 3 PCIe x16 slots!
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
290
136
HP Z400 User here (x58 chipset based). I have totally upgraded this workstation with liquid cooling, 24GB of PC31333, GTX 1080, USB 3.0 card, Gen 3 SATA card and last but not least Xeon W3690 (6 cored). I am getting a score of 4000 in the superposition benchmark at 1080p extreme. The setup feels super solid and fast, runs anything I throw at it with nothinig but a burp. Found it in a dumpster...
Nice!

I love rescuing old stuff, I just found a PII 400 / 128 MB RAM system on the curb down the street from my house, it is getting a PCI SATA card, SSD, Win 98 or XP, and the two Voodoo 2's sitting in my storage bin, maybe my old SCSI stuff too :)

All it needed was a CMOS battery, even the HDD was good, but wiped.

IMG_20190617_085700.jpg
IMG_20190617_085737.jpg
IMG_20190617_085807.jpg
IMG_20190617_085640.jpg
IMG_20190617_085823.jpg
IMG_20190617_085835.jpg
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
290
136
Whats with people tossing out such good stuff? Last year i found a Leveno Thinkpad sitting on a curb with a utterly destroyed XBOX next to it. Forgot the model but it had a second generation i5 in it with 4gb of ram. Minus a key missing and one of the usb ports looking like Wolverine went at it in frustration, it worked perfectly fine once i put in a 2.5 drive and since i had a few of those already including a 60gb ssd it was a pretty respectable laptop. Ended up giving it to my wifes cousin and he was able to play some Runescape on it.
I am a saver / recycle-er, I have a "collection" here that would maybe impress a few members here... The wife however, she is not as enamored with recycling / museum-ing old computers as much as I am :)
 

B-Riz

Golden Member
Feb 15, 2011
1,223
290
136
"Fun" times indeed. :D

Windows 9x always had that "bug" with more then 512MB RAM. From what I remember you had to tweak a couple of settings manually, or it wouldn't boot.



Vista pre-SP2 was pretty terrible, particularly on machines with low RAM and/or integrated graphics. It helped a good deal to disable Aero, forcing Windows to use the old GDI+ compositor.

Vista SP2 was almost indistinguishable from 7. It even got DirectX 11 with an update.
Windows 7 was just Vista SP2 rebranded and re-marketed, loool o_O
 
  • Like
Reactions: Insert_Nickname

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,627
395
126
Windows 7 was just Vista SP2 rebranded and re-marketed, loool o_O
7 is more like Vista SP3. There are features Vista simply doesn't have. But yes, the underlying tech is the same...

...and MS had to distance themselves from the Vista fiasco. Which turned out quite comical, since everyone loves 7, but hates Vista.

By the time 7 was launched, hardware and software (in particular drivers) had caught up with the OS.
 

heymrdj

Diamond Member
May 28, 2007
3,878
25
91
Vista was still my favorite OS. I never had any issues with it. I had 4GB of RAM in my HP 9550t and that OS could be customized to look like a command center. Aero glass, live desktop, any colors of the rainbow, theme packs, gadgets. Amazing. All our OS with their “modern UI” scheme look like crappy playskool toys in comparison. Everything has to be a stupid block, mobile or desktop.
 

BUTCH1

Lifer
Jul 15, 2000
18,134
412
126
7 is more like Vista SP3. There are features Vista simply doesn't have. But yes, the underlying tech is the same...

...and MS had to distance themselves from the Vista fiasco. Which turned out quite comical, since everyone loves 7, but hates Vista.

By the time 7 was launched, hardware and software (in particular drivers) had caught up with the OS.
IIRC XP, Vista, 7 all run on the same NTFS technology.
 

mohit9206

Golden Member
Jul 2, 2013
1,132
303
136
I'm running an FX6300 paired with 1050Ti. It can play most new AAA games with target of 30fps at 1080p on medium settings.
 

sigod1

Junior Member
Jul 6, 2019
13
0
11
i7 950
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R rev 2.0
6GB Kingston HyperX 1600Mhz DDR3
Gigabyte GTX660
OCZ Vertex2 60GB SSD - Windows 7
‎SEAGATE ST3320620AS 320GB HDD - Encrypted Parabola/GNU Linux
Western Digital Blue WD5000AAKS-00A7B2 500GB HDD - Windows Games - although i don't play much just CSGO and a few flight sims.
Western Digital Black WD2003FZEX-00Z4SA0 2TB HDD - Media
WD My Book 1140 3TB USB 3.0 - Backup Drive
SanDisk Cruzer Edge 4GB usb stick
Logitech HD C270 Webcam
Microsoft Sidewinder joystick.
DELL ULTRASHARP 2209WA 22" 1680x1050 IPS monitor
Genius KL-0210 Keyboard - some buttons are sticking and I have fully disassembled and cleaned in the past.
ROCCAT Kone Pure mouse
Steel Series Quick Mass mousepad
Sony DVDRW
Zalman 750W PSU
ZALMAN CNPS10X cooler
Lian LI case i forget the model.


10 years and going strong, probably need new HDDs soon. My original GTX 580 died, I think they were known for overheating.
The PSU has had coil whine since day 1 and I haven't bothered to do anything about it, I think it could be the motherboard PSU combination or just the PSU itself.

I think that covers it.

Currently trying to overclock for fun, but having RAM stability issues as per the question on this forum.
Will probably switch to Parabola GNU/Linux permanently after Windows 7 end of life.
 
Last edited:

Insert_Nickname

Diamond Member
May 6, 2012
3,627
395
126
Vista was still my favorite OS. I never had any issues with it. I had 4GB of RAM in my HP 9550t and that OS could be customized to look like a command center. Aero glass, live desktop, any colors of the rainbow, theme packs, gadgets. Amazing. All our OS with their “modern UI” scheme look like crappy playskool toys in comparison. Everything has to be a stupid block, mobile or desktop.
You can very easily tweak the 7 user interface to resemble Vista 99%. There are a few details here and there, but nothing earth-shattering.

IIRC XP, Vista, 7 all run on the same NTFS technology.
...?

NTFS is just the file system used on the drives. It has nothing else to do with Windows itself.

If you're referring to the NT kernel, that goes back to Windows NT 3.1 in 1993. Believe me, plenty has changed since. That original NT kernel didn't suddenly mutate support for AMD64 and other new features... ;)
 

heymrdj

Diamond Member
May 28, 2007
3,878
25
91
You can very easily tweak the 7 user interface to resemble Vista 99%. There are a few details here and there, but nothing earth-shattering.



...?

NTFS is just the file system used on the drives. It has nothing else to do with Windows itself.

If you're referring to the NT kernel, that goes back to Windows NT 3.1 in 1993. Believe me, plenty has changed since. That original NT kernel didn't suddenly mutate support for AMD64 and other new features... ;)
7 is a non starter. It’s too close to sunset. Too few features compared to 10. 7 was great for the way too many years it lasted.
 

BUTCH1

Lifer
Jul 15, 2000
18,134
412
126
7 is a non starter. It’s too close to sunset. Too few features compared to 10. 7 was great for the way too many years it lasted.
True, but the tile-based interface of 10 I find horrible, then it, (apparently, I don't use it), likes to update without warning at any possible time. Oh, 10 will be the last OS issued as a standalone OS from MS, they want users to purchase a yearly license going forward. No. friggin. way. I'd got to Linux after 7 becomes untenable.
 
  • Like
Reactions: AnitaPeterson
Thread starter Similar threads Forum Replies Date
W CPUs and Overclocking 8
C CPUs and Overclocking 17

ASK THE COMMUNITY