where to start for a 100% total noob at laying wire...

purbeast0

No Lifer
Sep 13, 2001
i just moved into a house over labor day weekend and had my fios installed the following day. it is a 4 level split level house.

the upstairs has basically 4 rooms in an L shape (think L shape on a chess board using 4 squares). the fios router was installed in the room that corresponds to the shorter part of the L shape.

what i would LIKE to do is basically set up a network, of both the internet cable AND the coaxial cable to all of the rooms.

my plan to do this was to somehow run this up to the attic, where i have a switch or router or something (again noob, no clue what i actually need here), then run the wire down the walls to each room, and have a wall jack that has both an ethernet port as well as a coaxial port so i can hook up the fios TV and internet in any room.

additionally, i plan on running one set of coaxial/ethernet cable down to the room that is basically directly below one of the rooms, which is going to make the wires end up in the laundry room. then from there, i can put a jack on the opposite side of the wall where my entertainment center is, where again, i want an ethernet and coaxial jack on there.

ssssssssssoooooooooooooo....

i'm basically asking where do i start as far as all of the equipment i will need. i don't even know exactly what kind of cables to get, if i need a switch up in the attic or a hub (or what the difference between them even is), or if i can just run all of the wires from the fios router that they gave me? i'm not sure what tools i need either, other than a drill and something to make holes in the wall where the jack goes. i don't know what kind of jacks/wires i need, etc.

basically i'm looking to ask if someone can point me in the right direction that will tell a noob what all is needed for this type of project, which in my eyes, seems like a pretty basic project.

nickbits

Diamond Member
Mar 10, 2008