What's The Shortest HD 7970 ?

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by Durvelle27, Nov 5, 2012.

  1. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    I want to know what's the shortest HD 7970 as i plan to upgrade mines. My case is a Cooler Master Storm Scout and only supports cards up to 10.6". I googled this question but got no answer.
     
  2. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. raghu78

    raghu78 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    69
    10.6 inch is too small to fit HD 7970. Get a bigger case like ANTEC 302 and a HD 7950. At the same clocks HD 7970 is 3 - 5% faster than HD 7950. the Gigabyte HD 7950 is a good card.

    ANTEC 302
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16811129180

    HD 7950
    http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16814125414
     
  5. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. 96Firebird

    96Firebird Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Messages:
    5,117
    Likes Received:
    24
  7. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    that was my same exact thought. that card couldn't be 10.5". Also not to dead set on a HD 7970 but would love to have one.
     
  8. TemjinGold

    TemjinGold Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2006
    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    1
    OP: Since money is tight, it really isn't worth the premium to go from 7950 to 7970...
     
  9. dmoney1980

    dmoney1980 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2008
    Messages:
    2,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    you're right, that's what i get for taking their word for it...

    looks like the powercolor card is the only option for the 7970. You may be better off getting a 7950 and overclocking it...better bang for buck anyway
     
  10. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. raghu78

    raghu78 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2012
    Messages:
    2,902
    Likes Received:
    69
    the twin frozr selling on newegg uses reference HD 7970 PCB and would be around 11 inches. check with users who have purchase the HD 7950 Twin frozr recently. the XFX DD coolers suck at cooling 1.1+ Ghz overclocks. the sapphire dual x , his iceq and gigabyte coolers are very good. but as said you would need a bigger case.
     
  12. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the MSi website it says its 10.28" long
     
  13. Greenlepricon

    Greenlepricon Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Popped out the tape measurer just for you guys. My MSI TFIII comes in at just under 10.5 inches. Not a lot of leeway but probably enough.
     
  14. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    thx for the info gonna go with that one then
     
  15. zaydq

    zaydq Senior member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    782
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here you go, enjoy. MSI TFIII 7950 on a 7970 pcb.

    [​IMG]
     
  16. Durvelle27

    Durvelle27 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2012
    Messages:
    4,102
    Likes Received:
    0
    can't really see it that well
     
  17. Greenlepricon

    Greenlepricon Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have that exact chair. Kinda tempted to go take a picture of mine like that :p Yours looks a little longer than what I measured mine out to be. Can you put the tape measurer over the card so it's a little more accurate?
     
  18. funboy6942

    funboy6942 Lifer

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    14,226
    Likes Received:
    3
    Dont forget to take in consideration where the power plugs in at. If in the rear your going to be limited in space that way too.
     
  19. Greenlepricon

    Greenlepricon Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Messages:
    468
    Likes Received:
    0
    Plugs are at the top on the far end of the gpu, so no worries there
     
Loading...
Similar Threads - Shortest
  1. neocpp
    Replies:
    17
    Views:
    3,522