Whats the maximum I can UNDER-clock an AthlonXP 3000+? To save power, for server use.

nobb

May 22, 2005
Currently Ive got a Pentium 2 350mhz system which I have underclocked by setting the jumpers to run at 233mhz. It is running Windows 2000 and I am using it as a home server. Power consumption is only a mere 20 watts on idle and the processor runs cool even with the fan off.

I have another machine, an AthlonXP 3000+ which I would like to see if it can run Windows Home Server (since the old one is too slow). I mostly like how easy it is to expand hard drive space with WHS. But the AthlonXP is a power hog, and I am wondering if I can significantly reduce power consumption by underclocking (currently 90 watts+, would like to reduce to <40 watts). Of course if I can underclock it enough that I can run the CPU fanless, even better. I will also probably turn off all unnecessary bios options and remove stuff like DVD drives, PCI cards, etc.

Im a newbie at this and wouldnt find much underclocking information on this processor. In the motherboard, I have options for spread spectrum, CPU FSB, CPU Ration, Vcore, DDR Voltage, AGP Voltage. I am guessing that the lower the voltage and frequency, the better. I am wondering if you guys have any tips on what precautions I should take, if any? Can you mess up a system by too much underclocking, like you can with overclocking? Will the system become instable? What are your experiences on underclocking?

o1die

Diamond Member
Jul 8, 2001
You can try reducing the cpu voltage by .2 volts, and see how stable the system is. I never tried amd's cool and quiet software on a socket 462 board, but maybe it will work.

Soulkeeper

Diamond Member
Nov 23, 2001
there is no set "maximum" the settings will be limited by whatever board you are using

a 20% undervolt is fairly easy to obtain with those chips (somewhere around 1.3v), if you're lucky you could undervolt it and still keep the same clock