Whats a good credit score for a job check? What do they look for?

Ghamu

Jun 12, 2002
Just wondering, I got a score in the mid 500's (on a scale of 150-930, how do you translate scores?)

I'm applying for a job for a large defense/goverment contracter, and I am wondering what exactly they are looking for. I don't have a any bankruptcys, just a fair number of 30 and some 60 day late notes with high revolving debt.

Am I screwed? Or are they just looking for TOTAL flakes or bankruptcys?

I'm a new grad hire btw.

kranky

Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
Does the job have anything to do with finances? Hopefully not.

Ghamu

Jun 12, 2002
..how do you see what the score translates too? The scale I was given mine in seems different, it says from 150-930

The job is in engineering btw

conjur

No Lifer
Jun 7, 2001
scales I've seen typically run from 350 - 850. But, mine's in the lower 500s and I'm pretty bad off (unemployment, divorce wreak havoc on one's finances)

kranky

Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999
I believe its importance would depend on the specific company and how much they care about credit scores. Obviously they would be very suspicious of someone with a rotten credit score applying for a job that would involve handling company money.

Some companies might assume if you can't handle your personal finances, you won't be able to handle a complicated job.

The smart thing to do is prepare a response in case they ask you to explain. Do you have extenuating circumstances which would explain the black marks without looking like you are incompetent? For example, did they all happen at the same time? You might have been very ill and unable to work temporarily which could explain it. If they are spread out over a long period of time, and you can't come up with an explanation other than you simply can't handle your finances, it could hurt your chances.

kranky

Elite Member
Oct 9, 1999