What would life be like today if the dinosaurs hadn't gone extinct?

Yossarian

Lifer
Dec 26, 2000
article

Would dinosaurs have evolved into more intelligent species? Would we be Sleestaks today? What is the impetus for the development of a larger brain?

edmundoab

Diamond Member
Apr 21, 2003
www.facebook.com
i wonder if they do exist still, will it ever make way for men to come into existance as of today.
but certainly, our intelligence beat the dinosaurs and we should be able to fight for survival

Freejack2

Diamond Member
Dec 31, 2000
I think dinosaurs would be extinct anyhow. Mankind has hands and opposable thumbs which I think makes all the difference in the world. I'm no scientist but I think for dinosaurs to have survived they would have to have hands with fingers and opposable thumbs. Am I somewhat correct or far off the mark on this?

BigJ

Lifer
Nov 18, 2001
Originally posted by: Freejack2
I think dinosaurs would be extinct anyhow. Mankind has hands and opposable thumbs which I think makes all the difference in the world. I'm no scientist but I think for dinosaurs to have survived they would have to have hands with fingers and opposable thumbs. Am I somewhat correct or far off the mark on this?

They survived for a hell of a lot longer than man has so far, so I'd say your wrong.

About 190million years as opposed to 160,000 years?

Freejack2

Diamond Member
Dec 31, 2000
Originally posted by: BigJ

They survived for a hell of a lot longer than man has so far, so I'd say your wrong.

Perhaps but I'm thinking if mankind had evolved with Dinosaurs around our ingenuity would have allowed us to win over the dinosaurs. I think the dinosaurs would have been hunted to extinction by mankind. If not i think they would probably be the equivalent of cows today.

PingSpike

Lifer
Feb 25, 2004

Do horseshoe crabs have opposable thumbs? They seem to have survived just fine. What about crocodiles?