what the 3570k?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by mango123, Nov 27, 2012.

  1. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok so apologies ahead of time if I am missing something I cleared my CMOS on p8z77 V- LK w 3570k and updated bios, am redoing my OC...

    WHAT ON GODS GREEN EARTH would cause bios to read 45 multiplier (desired mult) and the CPU-z and everything else to read 35 multiplier????

    Comp does a seem slower than 4.5 too, so I dont think its reading it incorrectly???

    Somone have any idea I'm sure I'm overlooking something?
     
  2. Idontcare

    Idontcare Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    21,130
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did you clear the BIOS after you updated it? Also, when clearing, don't forget to physically unplug the PSU. Simply turning it off doesn't seem to be enough for some mobos.
     
  3. WhoBeDaPlaya

    WhoBeDaPlaya Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    6,474
    Likes Received:
    1
    Do you have Speedstep and C1E enabled?
     
  4. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes i do have (did have) EIST and C1E enabled, and i had turbo off, it showed target speed of 4500 and when i would boot windows and load prime and load 100% it would read 3500/3400 i forget which one...

    fast forward to now, the only way i can get it to read 4500 in windows was by turning turbo on... and now my cpu speed sits at 4500 and voltage doesnt drop either...
    settings

    turbo-manual/ratio
    ci1 en
    c3 dis
    c6 dis
    c pack auto
    offset + .115

    eist on
    llc medium...

    voltage doesnt move, neither does clock? wtf.....:hmm:
     
  5. GPz1100

    GPz1100 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you're unable to figure this out through traditional means, reflash the bios. On occasion, that may clear up oddities such as this.
     
  6. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    What exactly are traditional means? I'm kind of lost on which settings here do whag? Do you mean to tell me that my system is indeed acting oddly?
     
  7. GPz1100

    GPz1100 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, if the settings in the bios are not being accepted, then something is amiss. Try reflashing the bios and see what happens. Note, all settings will be reset to defaults.
     
  8. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Roger reset to defaults reads 3.8 Target turbo now... And shows a 3.6 @ full load. Is that right? I reflashed it and rest it to default.
     
    #8 mango123, Nov 27, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2012
  9. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    I thought I remember seeing it shoot to 38 before this snafu.
     
  10. GPz1100

    GPz1100 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    A 3570K @ stock settings is

    Clock Speed 3.4 GHz
    Max Turbo Frequency 3.8 GHz
     
  11. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, I figured that something may be wrong with the flash...

    I redownloaded the BIOS file, renamed and reflashed, cleared CMOS again.

    Cranked it up and did my usual settings and voila no problems. 45 x 100 = 4500

    But I'm still left here wondering... Am I actually using turbo mode when I overclock on this motherboard? When I enter a multiplier it greys out the turbo enabled option?
     
  12. ShintaiDK

    ShintaiDK Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 22, 2012
    Messages:
    20,153
    Likes Received:
    39
    Turbomode wouldnt work anyway at that speed.
     
  13. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    SO when it shows turbo as enabled and greyed out, it's actually not really enabled???
     
  14. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does your CPU still throttle down to 1.6Ghz and lowered voltage when idle?
     
  15. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes it does so beauftifully.
     
  16. mango123

    mango123 Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2012
    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anyone have any links to information about how turbo boost works on CPU in regards to multiplier, and what happens to turbo boost when you are using a non stuck multiplier? And also the effects of the motherboard multiplier wise. I am looking for hardware level information.

    Thanks.
     
  17. Zap

    Zap Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 1999
    Messages:
    22,378
    Likes Received:
    0
    :thumbsup: Sounds as if everything is working as it should. The CPU will have three states.

    1) 1600MHz at lowered voltage for idle.

    2) 3400MHz at normal voltage for normal operation.

    3) Turbo boost (in your case cranked up to 4500MHz) at boosted voltage for periods of high CPU utilization when conditions are met (temperatures in check, CPU utilization high, within TDP setting).

    You will see 1 whenever CPU utilization is low. You will otherwise see 3 whenever CPU utilization is high. I think 2 is just the "failsafe" speed if temps go too high, or something.
     
  18. Saylick

    Saylick Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2012
    Messages:
    502
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anandtech has a few articles on the principles behind Turbo Boost. I know for certain Anand's Nehalem microarch article has a section on Turbo Boost.

    I'm not sure if this is a hardware level answer but I can personally vouch that it is possible to get Turbo Boost working in addition to using a higher multiplier. The feasibility of this option comes down to how much cooling you can provide to the chip as the chip will only kick into higher Turbo bins if it has an excess TDP budget that it can capitalize on.

    I personally have this setup on my rig: my chip (i5-750) runs at a base speed of 3.5 Ghz (21x multiplier on a 167 BCLCK), but can boost all the way up to 4.0 Ghz if need be (24 x 167). Power saving features are enabled as well, so it down clocks when it's idling.

    As for SNB and IVB, I am not sure if you can run a "dynamic" overclock but for Nehalem chips, it should be possible.
     
  19. GPz1100

    GPz1100 Senior member

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2001
    Messages:
    341
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have all the power saving/speed step features enabled on mine. Under idle/light load the cpu runs at 1.6ghz (see below for specs). Under mild load it ramps up to ~3ghz, and under heavy, to 4.6ghz. However, it seems most times it goes straight from idle to 4.6. The 3570K being of similar characteristics should operate similarly as well.

    Note, in my bios, the turbo boost is set to the same multiplier (46x) for all cores, not just one.
     
Loading...