What Linux Distro To learn on?

Anubis

No Lifer
Aug 31, 2001
tbqhwy.com
this is OT dont kill it

Im a Linux Noob. but wanna teach myself to use it. what distro woudl you recmend? i plan to RTFM.
just wounderin what you think would be teh best to start with to get the best intro/general usage basis for it

Jan 31, 2002
Mandrake 9.1 = Linux for n00bs

Good place to start, and actually not as bad as all the "hardcore" unshowering masses make it out to be.

- M4H

yoda291

Diamond Member
Aug 11, 2001
Originally posted by: wixt0r
Learn the manly way and go Gentoo :D

I think the goal is not to spook him.

Besides, if you wanted complicated, go slak...if you want REALLY complicated, go LFS.

edro

Lifer
Apr 5, 2002
Linux is really easy once you start learning a few commands. I would go with Mandrake 9.1 as well. That's what I have used, since 7.0. It has a ton of applications installed on it and is nice looking as well (with KDE).

dighn

Lifer
Aug 12, 2001
i started with slackware. fine distro. stay away from the noobish ones b/c they are bloated and they shield u from too much stuff

gentoo is also good but it might be a little frustrating to install b/c it recompiles everything and that could potentionally take a long item

Nemesis77

Diamond Member
Jun 21, 2001
Originally posted by: wixt0r
Learn the manly way and go Gentoo :D

Words of wisdom. Yes, the installation can be intimidating. You do everything by hand, there is no fancy GUI to hold your hand. OTOH, the instructions are very good and the forums are kick-ass (I'm a regural there) with lots of people willing to help you out. When you install and configure Mandrake (for example) you don't really learn that much. But when you install and configure Gentoo, you lear ALOT.

Besides, Gentoo is a kick-ass distro :D!

dighn

Lifer
Aug 12, 2001
Originally posted by: TheEvil1
personally id liek a distro that has a GUI but we shall see