What job did you have in college?

Dragnov

Diamond Member
Apr 24, 2001
I need a job. Well I don't really NEED a job, but I would like to get one. Thing is I'm a college student so I can only work certain hours and for so long, I don't have a car, and I don't have much working experience.

I've worked as a tutor, database entry, and did some computer repair work. Like most anandtech members I know lots about computer hardware... building, taking apart, fixing, etc. Whatever. We're all geeks. However, it seems like I can't get a decent job anywhere. I will NOT work in fast food, clothing sales, etc. I wish to be able to use my technical knowledge such as in repair, electronic sales, etc. I've applied to several of the retail electronic stores such as CompUSA and Best Buy and such, but with no avail. What angers me the most is that most of the workers there know very little about this stuff and I KNOW a peron that got hired that knows essentially nothing about computer products.

I've thought of getting the A+ certificate but it seems like it won't make a difference. Theres nothing local enough for me to work in the technical field that would look halfway decent on a starting resume. I'm wondering. How did you get your first job in college? What was it? and etc.

Modeps

Lifer
Oct 24, 2000
welp, i had 2 jobs at my college at 2 different times.

my first, i worked as a graphical artist, helping out with websites and such... the job blew, not enough work... so i left.

my second, I worked for student activities as a technician. we would do everything from setup tables, and chairs for events to setting up and running the sound equipment. We also were the crew to setup stages and equipment for any live band that came... we did Third Eye Blind andThey Might Be Giants while I was working there. It was pretty cool... Too bad 3EB really REALLY sucks live.
heh.. but I enjoyed the job quite a bit. plus the hours were very flexible around my class/girlfriend schedule. :)

Axman