what is the difference between xeon E5-1620 and xeon E3-1290 cpus ?

Discussion in 'CPUs and Overclocking' started by Michael REMY, Mar 8, 2012.

  1. Michael REMY

    Michael REMY Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2010
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi,


    does anybody explain why the price is triple between this 2 cpu ?

    xeon E5-1620 and xeon E3-1290



    it seems, the features are the same, aren't they ? Even the cheaper seems to very better than the more expensive one !

    http://ark.intel.com/fr/compare/55452,64621

    here the technical infos :

    [FONT=&quot]http://ark.intel.com/fr/products/64621/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E5-1620-(10M-Cache-3_60-GHz-0_0-GTs-Intel-QPI)

    [/FONT]
    [FONT=&quot]http://ark.intel.com/fr/products/55452/Intel-Xeon-Processor-E3-1290-(8M-Cache-3_60-GHz)[/FONT]

    thanks for advice.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - difference xeon xeon Forum Date
    Xeon and i7 differences for a new build CPUs and Overclocking Mar 29, 2014
    Difference in RAS Features Between Xeon 1366 and 1567 CPUs and Overclocking May 20, 2011
    Difference between Core and Xeon CPUs CPUs and Overclocking Feb 13, 2010
    what's the difference between a xeon and a C2Q? CPUs and Overclocking Oct 1, 2009
    Difference in Xeon chips CPUs and Overclocking Jan 14, 2004

  3. IntelUser2000

    IntelUser2000 Elite Member

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2003
    Messages:
    4,525
    Likes Received:
    185
    Xeon E3 is based on the desktop Sandy Bridge platform with 2 channel DDR3 memory controller. It also has 16 PCI Express 2.0 channels on the CPU in addition to the ones on the companion chip.

    Xeon E5 is based on the new Sandy Bridge EP die with 4 channel DDR3 memory controller. E5 chips feature 40 PCI Express 3.0 lanes on the CPU in addition to ones in the companion chip.
     
  4. MisterMac

    MisterMac Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2011
    Messages:
    779
    Likes Received:
    0
    Double memory bandwith.

    Max RAM E3: 32 GB
    Max RAM E5: 375 GB.


    Savvy?
     
  5. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    193
    they're both phantom chips
     
  6. Edrick

    Edrick Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    171
    In addition to what IntelUser stated:

    The E3 supports only single socket systems.

    The E5 supports dual and possibly quad socket systems (depending on chip).
     
  7. Edrick

    Edrick Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    171
    Huh?

    375 / 8 slots = 46.875GB per slot.
     
  8. Ferzerp

    Ferzerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    46
    Unless they swap naming conventions again, I wouldn't expect anything with an e5 designation to be a capable of anything more than dual processor functionality.

    The 4+ capable ones are typical 7's (E7, the older 7xxx series, etc)
     
  9. Edrick

    Edrick Golden Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2010
    Messages:
    1,851
    Likes Received:
    171
    Thats what I thought as well. But I do see mention of quad socket support for E5s. I hope I can get some conclusive proof on that.
     
  10. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    193
    http://www.laptopmacdriver.com/laptop-news/intel-xeon-e5-2400-and-e5-4600-released.html

    E5-1600 series - 1 socket
    E5-2600 series - 2 socket
    E5-4600 series - 4 socket
     
  11. Ferzerp

    Ferzerp Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 1999
    Messages:
    6,345
    Likes Received:
    46
    Yay. Another nomenclature change. Intel is horrible about those.
     
  12. andrewpsy

    andrewpsy Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    hi, does anyone know if E5-16xx processors support registered ECC memory?
    thx.
     
  13. gobelin

    gobelin Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes, I asked Supermicro tech support the same question and they confirmed
     
  14. Puppies04

    Puppies04 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2011
    Messages:
    5,911
    Likes Received:
    9
    375 also implies one or all ram dimms are odd numbers and as the only odd number RAM dimm I am aware of is 1GB maybe there is a special mobo out there with 375 ram slots :D
     
  15. tynopik

    tynopik Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2004
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    193
  16. denev2004

    denev2004 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2011
    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0