what is the difference between Romex 12-2 with ground vs. 12-3 with ground

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by edprush, Jan 16, 2006.

  1. edprush

    edprush Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    does the "2" and "3" mean the number of wires?
     
  2. Antisocial Virge

    Antisocial Virge Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 1999
    Messages:
    6,578
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. edprush

    edprush Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    what is the 3rd wire for?
     
  4. Whoozyerdaddy

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,261
    Likes Received:
    1
    Kind of... A 12/2 has three conductors. A 12/3 has four.
     
  5. FoBoT

    FoBoT No Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    63,094
    Likes Received:
    5
    fans or multi-switch lights?
     
  6. Whoozyerdaddy

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,261
    Likes Received:
    1
    Yup
     
  7. edprush

    edprush Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Basically, I want have a few 220volt capacity outlets in my shop so I called an electrician. He said I could buy some "12 guage with ground Romex" and he would wire it for me.

    I just don't know if i should get the 2 or 3 wire?
     
  8. FoBoT

    FoBoT No Lifer

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2001
    Messages:
    63,094
    Likes Received:
    5
    :eek:

    see that \/
     
  9. ijester

    ijester Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    For 220v you need the 12-3nmb with ground.

    220v needs two hot wires and a neutral.

     
  10. jupiter57

    jupiter57 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2001
    Messages:
    4,600
    Likes Received:
    0

    220 needs 2 hot wires and an insulated neutral, PLUS a seperate ground.
     
  11. ijester

    ijester Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    uh, that is what 12-3nmb with ground is....

    And you don't NEED the ground to get 220. Just for code compliance and safety.
     
  12. edprush

    edprush Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Sep 18, 2000
    Messages:
    2,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is the brand Cerro Wire okay to use? I was at Lowes and they didn't have Romex.
     
  13. Vette73

    Vette73 Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2000
    Messages:
    21,505
    Likes Received:
    0

    As long as it is copper and has the protected sleave on it then yea.

     
  14. Rastus

    Rastus Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 1999
    Messages:
    4,706
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just cut the ground wire out. Everybody does it. ;)
     
  15. ijester

    ijester Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2004
    Messages:
    348
    Likes Received:
    1
    Just make sure it is labeled '12/3 nmb' and you will be fine.