What is a mod? I understand it makes a game much better. Like Oblivion.

ricleo2

Golden Member
Feb 18, 2004
Ok, I have a feeling this is a question I should know by now. As I have been playing PC games since 1995. But bear with me. What is a mod and how does it make a game play better. How do I get one?

Barfo

Lifer
Jan 4, 2005
Originally posted by: ricleo2
Ok, I have a feeling this is a question I should know by now. As I have been playing PC games since 1995. But bear with me. What is a mod and how does it make a game play better. How do I get one?

Hard to believe but anyway, short for modification and as their name implies they modifie a game, whether to enhance it graphically (high res texture packs, model replacements, etc.) or to change the gameplay (adding new quests, maps, changing rules, stats, almost anything).

As for getting mods, it depends a lot on the game, some have huge modding communities and others not a single one, it's a matter of searching for your favorite game and see what the most popular mods are, read reviews and ultimately install the mods and keep them if you like.

It can be a time consuming process but it has the potential to turn a mediocre game into something really good.

Edit: They come in many flavors from installers to source code you have to compile yourself, most of them overwrite original game files so always make backups before installing a mod.

Rike

Platinum Member
Oct 14, 2004
HATE HATE INSULT INSULT