What I want in a monitor

BrightCandle

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007
As a gamer and programmer I really want a monitor with the following properties:
- 1920x1200
- 24"
- 120Hz
- Low ghosting
- Good image quality (contrast, gamma stability, consistent lighting, no backlight bleed, black is nice and dark etc etc)
- Enough viewing angle for it to work in surround/eyefinity such that the colours aren't impacted
- Input latency below 16ms, ideally around 5ms (with the best monitors out there).

That combination as far as I know is currently impossible but it shouldn't be.

branskyj

Oct 25, 2011
I would LOVE for Anand to sit down with some of the most famous monitor manufacturers and ask them straight to their faces how is it possible that they never produced a true bezel-free monitor of the 23+ IPS range so far.
I guess it would be a niche product but so are many other out there... and I know many other people (including me) who would buy such monitor in a heart beat.
I mean- we sent people in space for crying out loud.
So yea- I guess that is my biggest gripe with the today's monitors.

corkyg

Elite Member | Peripherals
Super Moderator
Mar 4, 2000
If you don't have any bezel, what do you suggest using to keep the laminated layers together?

Selenium_Glow

Jan 25, 2012
When we are talking about "concepts" here, a bezel free monitor might be possible by using some sort of indexed matched super glue for laminating the layers (you know, the kind that is used to splice and then rejoin two optical fiber ends together...).

But personally, I'd prefer the bezels. My brain is too used to seeing them now.

Last edited:

BrightCandle

Diamond Member
Mar 15, 2007