• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Question What ever happened to AMD budget AM4 processors?

GunsMadeAmericaFree

Senior member
Jan 23, 2007
467
15
81
I was looking through AM4 processor choices at Micro Center online today, and prices start out at $160.

A year ago, there were pretty decent choices on offer for $80, (Ryzen 1600) and there were even a couple of budget choices under that price.

Have things really changed this much in a year? I was thinking of having my son build my parents a budget build, since they are still using a
FM2 based (A4-7300) system from 2014, but not if $160 is the lowest price on offer these days.
 

Staples

Diamond Member
Oct 28, 2001
4,907
88
91
Not only this, I think PC have become overall more expensive to build with off the shelf parts. I remember a few years PC fanboys would compare budget PCs to consoles because it was possible to actually build something for $300. Not too possible now.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
20,812
9,009
136
On newegg, there is a 3200g with integrated video for $95. And a 3100 for $105. And a 2600 hex core for $139
 
  • Like
Reactions: Space Tyrant

Jimzz

Diamond Member
Oct 23, 2012
4,353
148
106
A lot of OEM demand this year, esp with a lot of kids at home so more computers are being sold.
So the 3X00G AMD chips are in high demand due to low cost, low power, and built in video that OEMs look for.


The 3200G offers a lot of bang for the buck IMO if you are not running a discreat video card. If you have a separate card then then 3100/3300 are the next best up.
 
  • Like
Reactions: Tlh97 and prtskg

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
49,285
5,492
126
On newegg, there is a 3200g with integrated video for $95. And a 3100 for $105. And a 2600 hex core for $139
That's kind of interesting. As I understand it, the MSRP of the 3100 is $99, but I've never seen it (@ Newegg, from Newegg themselves, for LESS than $125-135). And 3300X stock is virtually non-existent.

@ $99, I would buy the 3100 all day long for builds, even though GamersNexus (IIRC) showed that the 1600 AF still edged it out in gaming, by a few percentage points, overall. (Of course, if the 1600 "AF" was still available @ $80-90, that would be an obvious default choice too.)

But now it seems that the cheapest 6C/12T Ryzen is a 2600 @ $139.99 or more.

Edit: I did pick up some 3000G APUs, which I think are 'Picasso', and don't always have good BIOS support from boards. They were $55 some months ago @ Newegg. (They were really the only under $100 AM4 APUs/CPUs that I could find at roughly MSRP, and even availability of those has been spotting, with some scalping going on.)

That said, OP, if you would like a PC with a 3000G in it, and 16GB of DDR4-3200 RAM (Team Group), and an SSD, PM me. I've got one available, and I'll let it go fairly cheap.

Edit: Or I've got parts to build a few AM4 rigs, with either a 3000G (BNIB), a 1600 "AE" (used, with NIB Stealth cooler), some 16GB DDR4-3200 kits (BNIB), and some various AM4 mobos (got lots, some BNIB, some open-box/refurb that look new).
 
Last edited:

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,075
751
136
That's kind of interesting. As I understand it, the MSRP of the 3100 is $99, but I've never seen it (@ Newegg, from Newegg themselves, for LESS than $125-135). And 3300X stock is virtually non-existent.

@ $99, I would buy the 3100 all day long for builds, even though GamersNexus (IIRC) showed that the 1600 AF still edged it out in gaming, by a few percentage points, overall. (Of course, if the 1600 "AF" was still available @ $80-90, that would be an obvious default choice too.)

But now it seems that the cheapest 6C/12T Ryzen is a 2600 @ $139.99 or more.

Edit: I did pick up some 3000G APUs, which I think are 'Picasso', and don't always have good BIOS support from boards. They were $55 some months ago @ Newegg. (They were really the only under $100 AM4 APUs/CPUs that I could find at roughly MSRP, and even availability of those has been spotting, with some scalping going on.)

That said, OP, if you would like a PC with a 3000G in it, and 16GB of DDR4-3200 RAM (Team Group), and an SSD, PM me. I've got one available, and I'll let it go fairly cheap.

Edit: Or I've got parts to build a few AM4 rigs, with either a 3000G (BNIB), a 1600 "AE" (used, with NIB Stealth cooler), some 16GB DDR4-3200 kits (BNIB), and some various AM4 mobos (got lots, some BNIB, some open-box/refurb that look new).
3000G is Raven2.

As for the rest the 1600 and 2600 supply is going to end eventually.

There is a new 4/4 Athlon with vega 3 coming up, Dali.
 

NostaSeronx

Diamond Member
Sep 18, 2011
3,206
721
136
Technically, Stoney Ridge was once set for AM4.

Desktop packages => AM4

However, AMD is getting decimated at their low ASP fab though: https://arxiv.org/pdf/2008.06502.pdf

Probably on the budget side, better off waiting for a quad-core U87 and that RVV GPU thingy on a RPi like device for practically nothing. It would at least support AV1 8K decode/encode on time probably.

For $36 USD;
Sempron 3850 => Quad-core/2 CU on AM1
However, that was in 2014 28nm. Stoney was in 2016 28nm which was significantly cheaper at GloFo. Which it progressively got cheaper to the point Stoney's 25W BGAs are selling for less than $20 for 2017-present.

Mobo vendors could just subsidize a working Stoney APU on AM4. Buy the mobo, comes free with a Stoney APU. So, you don't need to drop >49 dollars to test the board.
 
Last edited:
  • Love
Reactions: amd6502

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator and Elite Member
Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
22,085
2,529
136
As far as Asrock is concerned, the 3000G is Picasso, and CPU-Z and HWinfo then I.D. it that way in windows. It's in stock and at the MSRP of $49 on Amazon, which is what I paid. It is fun to overclock, and with both CPU&GPU, can net 40-50 percent gains compared to stock, in some games, paired with 3200MHz ram. Handles internet and media streaming no problem.

Since you want your son to have the project - You could put a mom&pop box together for under $400 using an acceptable PSU, and all new parts under warranty. Otherwise I'd say to buy a used Optiplex off Ebay, and call it a day.
 

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
49,285
5,492
126
3000G is Raven2.
As far as Asrock is concerned, the 3000G is Picasso, and CPU-Z and HWinfo then I.D. it that way in windows.
Hmph. :(

I always thought that it was "Picasso" as well.

Edit: PS. When overclocking the 3000G on an ASRock board, there are two OC settings, "OC Mode", and "Frequency". Set "OC Mode" to "Auto" (leave), and then set "Frequency" to "Manual", and dial-in the frequency, and the voltage. (1.30V-1.32V should be enough for 3800-3900Mhz, if the chip will take that much. Also run XMP with DDR4-3200 RAM.)

I had a heck of a time, since I was setting "OC Mode" to "Manual" as well as "Frequency", and it just wasn't working! Wouldn't even boot to BIOS/UEFI after messing with that. But with "OC Mode" set to "Auto", smooth as silk!
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator and Elite Member
Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
22,085
2,529
136
Hmph. :(

I always thought that it was "Picasso" as well.

Edit: PS. When overclocking the 3000G on an ASRock board, there are two OC settings, "OC Mode", and "Frequency". Set "OC Mode" to "Auto" (leave), and then set "Frequency" to "Manual", and dial-in the frequency, and the voltage. (1.30V-1.32V should be enough for 3800-3900Mhz, if the chip will take that much. Also run XMP with DDR4-3200 RAM.)

I had a heck of a time, since I was setting "OC Mode" to "Manual" as well as "Frequency", and it just wasn't working! Wouldn't even boot to BIOS/UEFI after messing with that. But with "OC Mode" set to "Auto", smooth as silk!
Bummer. I was using the x370 Gaming X with the og Wraith spire (copper core). Manual settings, I used Geil 3000 OC to 3200 CL16. APU at 1.3125v OC at 3.8/1600 because I was copying a review. Did not even bump the SoC up. Worked right off, and took the 3DMark Night Raid score from 5500 with everything stock, to 6700 with everything overclocked. I have not gotten around to seeing if it can do the 4.1/1700 some are getting with better cooling.

Almost forgot, I set the iGPU speed in both the tweaker and advanced tabs.
 
Last edited:

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,075
751
136
Hmph. :(

I always thought that it was "Picasso" as well.

Edit: PS. When overclocking the 3000G on an ASRock board, there are two OC settings, "OC Mode", and "Frequency". Set "OC Mode" to "Auto" (leave), and then set "Frequency" to "Manual", and dial-in the frequency, and the voltage. (1.30V-1.32V should be enough for 3800-3900Mhz, if the chip will take that much. Also run XMP with DDR4-3200 RAM.)

I had a heck of a time, since I was setting "OC Mode" to "Manual" as well as "Frequency", and it just wasn't working! Wouldn't even boot to BIOS/UEFI after messing with that. But with "OC Mode" set to "Auto", smooth as silk!
Picasso is a 4/8 Vega 11 die, Raven2 is a native 2/4 Vega3 die, they did that to replace the 200GE that was a full Raven die.

It also does not boot up with a Picasso bios, (the 200GE boots up with the first Raven Ridge bios), the 3000G needs a Ryzen 3000 bios.
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator and Elite Member
Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
22,085
2,529
136
Picasso is a 4/8 Vega 11 die, Raven2 is a native 2/4 Vega3 die, they did that to replace the 200GE that was a full Raven die.

It also does not boot up with a Picasso bios, (the 200GE boots up with the first Raven Ridge bios), the 3000G needs a Ryzen 3000 bios.
You are not wrong. And wikichip lists it as Raven+. But again, Asrock lists it as Picasso under the CPU support list, and it is then read as Picasso by HWinfo and CPU-Z. Perhaps it is Asrock that needs to be informed.
 

Shivansps

Diamond Member
Sep 11, 2013
3,075
751
136
You are not wrong. And wikichip lists it as Raven+. But again, Asrock lists it as Picasso under the CPU support list, and it is then read as Picasso by HWinfo and CPU-Z. Perhaps it is Asrock that needs to be informed.
Yeah there is a lot of confusion around the 3000G, CPU-Z detects it as a 12nm Picasso, but GPU-Z Detects the Vega 3 as a 14nm Raven Ridge, for example.

I think it is called Picasso because it is included with the Picasso microcode. The AMD webpage list it as "14nm" thus it is a 14nm Zen Raven2. Wikichip also list it as a Raven2. And with a existing native 2C V3 Raven2 die there is no reason to use a Picasso die.
 

matheusber

Senior member
Jun 12, 2001
375
5
81
3000G is Raven2.

As for the rest the 1600 and 2600 supply is going to end eventually.

There is a new 4/4 Athlon with vega 3 coming up, Dali.
That is a good information. Now I am trying to build a cheap NAS server. Looking for the 3000G Athlon or similar from Intel (so far, just G6400 got close to the price). The latter has 4 cores, the first is AM4 just like this Ryzen 3400G I type from. My goal is a cheap and energy efficient box.

Is there time estimate for his launch?

thanks,

matheus
 

DAPUNISHER

Super Moderator and Elite Member
Moderator
Aug 22, 2001
22,085
2,529
136
That is a good information. Now I am trying to build a cheap NAS server. Looking for the 3000G Athlon or similar from Intel (so far, just G6400 got close to the price). The latter has 4 cores, the first is AM4 just like this Ryzen 3400G I type from. My goal is a cheap and energy efficient box.

Is there time estimate for his launch?

thanks,

matheus
The G6400 is 2c/4t just like the 3000g. It is a good little CPU though -

 
  • Like
Reactions: VirtualLarry

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
49,285
5,492
126
The G6400 is 2c/4t just like the 3000g. It is a good little CPU though -
Nice video, thanks!

I'm liking the 4.0Ghz Pentium Gold G6400, but ... I would have liked to see a 3.8/3.9Ghz 3000G paired up against it (Edit: With DDR4-3200), rather than the the stock 3.5Ghz 3000G, to see if it closes the gap. Reason being, for upgradability sake, I believe that someone would likely prefer the AM4 socket, and be able to drop in a 3700X or 3900X in the future, when they decided to up the number of cores in their PC, which is doable even on the "cheap" AM4 motherboards, generally. Intel boards are a bit more limited, when you buy their lower-end budget boards, to put a budget CPU like the Pentium G6400 into.

Also, kind of interesting in a way, sort of like a hybrid between the G3258 (of which 4.0Ghz was a common if low overclock, but that was only 2C/2T, and could only take DDR3-1333 (sometimes 1400, depending on mobo), and of the G4560 (Kaby Lake), that was not overclockable, but was a 3.5Ghz CPU, one of the first if not THE first 2C/4T Pentium in Intel's lineup.

So, now we have the G6400, which is also still 2C/4T, but now stock @ 4.0Ghz. Sweet!
 

VirtualLarry

Lifer
Aug 25, 2001
49,285
5,492
126
Shame that Intel crippled AVX and AVX2 on those chips. It's a compatibility problem waiting to happen.
Especially with games poised to finally use those opcodes. WTH is Intel thinking?

Anyways, I was looking at this chip:

Intel Core i3-10100 Comet Lake Quad-Core 3.6 GHz LGA 1200 65W CM8070104291317 Desktop Processor Intel UHD Graphics 630 - OEM $135.99 + $8.06 ship

which has "4.3Ghz turbo", but I don't know what all-core turbo is. It is also 4C/8T.

I think that would make a nice competitor to the 3400G APU, assuming that you were going to use a discreet GPU anyways.

$128.79 @ Amazon
 
Last edited:

matheusber

Senior member
Jun 12, 2001
375
5
81
Nice video, thanks!

I'm liking the 4.0Ghz Pentium Gold G6400, but ... I would have liked to see a 3.8/3.9Ghz 3000G paired up against it (Edit: With DDR4-3200), rather than the the stock 3.5Ghz 3000G, to see if it closes the gap. Reason being, for upgradability sake, I believe that someone would likely prefer the AM4 socket, and be able to drop in a 3700X or 3900X in the future, when they decided to up the number of cores in their PC, which is doable even on the "cheap" AM4 motherboards, generally. Intel boards are a bit more limited, when you buy their lower-end budget boards, to put a budget CPU like the Pentium G6400 into.

Also, kind of interesting in a way, sort of like a hybrid between the G3258 (of which 4.0Ghz was a common if low overclock, but that was only 2C/2T, and could only take DDR3-1333 (sometimes 1400, depending on mobo), and of the G4560 (Kaby Lake), that was not overclockable, but was a 3.5Ghz CPU, one of the first if not THE first 2C/4T Pentium in Intel's lineup.

So, now we have the G6400, which is also still 2C/4T, but now stock @ 4.0Ghz. Sweet!
Nice info here. After watching that youtube review above I looked really carefully to the G6400. My main issue with it is motherboard. I can't find a cheap and resourceful one. Not found yet a 4 DIMM afordable here :(

I will intensify on that, if anyone have a hint please say :)

thanks,

matheus
 

jihe

Senior member
Nov 6, 2009
746
96
91
I was looking through AM4 processor choices at Micro Center online today, and prices start out at $160.

A year ago, there were pretty decent choices on offer for $80, (Ryzen 1600) and there were even a couple of budget choices under that price.

Have things really changed this much in a year? I was thinking of having my son build my parents a budget build, since they are still using a
FM2 based (A4-7300) system from 2014, but not if $160 is the lowest price on offer these days.
Seems to have abandoned the north American market. In Europe you can get the 1200AF for the equivalent of 45-50 USD.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY

TRENDING THREADS