what does HPET do

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by j0j081, Dec 29, 2008.

  1. j0j081

    j0j081 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just found I accidentally had HPET set to 32 bit mode when it should be on 64 in my system bios. What exactly does the high precision event timer do? I've read it is a fairly new thing and should be enabled if you are running Vista but I haven't really found much else on it other than it possible effecting multimedia applications. Here is a link with more info but wasn't really much help to me.

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/High_Precision_Event_Timer

    Would having it in the wrong mode change the performance of my pc at all? I have corrected it now. I saw the setting in there when I first built my pc but forgot to adjust it after switching to Vista 64 permanently a couple months ago.
     
  2. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,799
    Likes Received:
    13
    It might be better to use 32-bit mode due to the potential for some software to have immature or buggy support for 64-bit mode timers. 32-bit and 64-bit software can use 32-bit timers without any new programming considerations.

    As for the purpose or benefit of HPET:

    http://www.microsoft.com/whdc/...nternals/mm-timer.mspx
     
  3. nineball9

    nineball9 Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2003
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    0
    Interesting reading, tcsenter. Thanks for the link.
     
  4. j0j081

    j0j081 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,090
    Likes Received:
    0

    hmm so you think I should change it back? The Gigabyte manual says to set it to whatever flavor of Vista you have installed.
     
  5. tcsenter

    tcsenter Lifer

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2001
    Messages:
    17,799
    Likes Received:
    13
    I personally would leave it to 32-bit, but if all applications and drivers that you install have proper support for 64-bit timers, then it won't be a problem. Its just one of those relatively new programming considerations after developers have been accustomed to 32-bit timers for years and years and years, not unlike making sure drivers are properly large address aware.
     
  6. gophins72

    gophins72 Golden Member

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2005
    Messages:
    1,541
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have vista 64, and i turned on the 64 bit feature of hpet after reading this post. so far, i see no difference.

     
  7. noho

    noho Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    i know what it's for

    its for media, not really for gaming or stuff of that nature.

    i notice:
    when i run it that my videos are running smoother and that there are some other programs like nvidias stuff loads quicker.
    also in my gaming it slows down my load time, only with the online games that is =[
    games only offline run alot better.

    but if you looking for speed i recommend that you turn this feature off.

    what i notice when the feature is off:
    everything is alot snapier for load up =]
     
  8. tom.etc

    tom.etc Junior Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Apparently having that timer enabled threw off the timing for the on board NIC on my M3N78-VM, but only since i moderately overclocked my X2 4800 to 3.125GHz and Ram to 833. It was driving me up a wall b/c devman didn't throw out errors, the dialogue said all was well, but not single packet sent or recieved.. took me 6 hours to stumble across it :) just thought i'd share that so it's not you next time maybe :)

    **edit** it's worth noting that in my BIOS its listed as the SouthBridge HPET Table
     
    #8 tom.etc, Feb 10, 2011
    Last edited: Feb 10, 2011