What does 1394 mean? and how do I turn it off cause it won't let me get on the internet.

frankgomez75

Platinum Member
Mar 23, 2004
:(

Why did I ever tell people I work as a PC tech at work? WHY!
As the title says.. thats what someone asked me. I'm in Houston and my neighbor left to North Dakota and called me at 9PM last nite to ask me why the 1394 message won't let him connect to the internet. :confused: oh well.... from now on, all new ppl I meet I'm not even going to mention I know anything about computers.

Jeeebus

Diamond Member
Aug 29, 2006
tell him to just be thankful he didn't see the 1337 message.

Jawo

Diamond Member
Jun 15, 2005
My only guess is that its something with the Firewire ports...Never really understood why it showed up in Network connections though

Demon-Xanth

Lifer
Feb 15, 2000
Over the phone troubleshooting is the single most pain in the ass thing that I ever have to deal with. It's alot like trying to give someone directions to a place you've never to, without knowing where they are, and while teaching them how to drive in a car that you've never been in.

Alex

Diamond Member
Oct 26, 1999
its firewire and has nothing do with internet
the poor bastard prolly tried configuring tcp/ip on the firewire card...

frankgomez75

Platinum Member
Mar 23, 2004
Originally posted by: Demon-Xanth
Over the phone troubleshooting is the single most pain in the ass thing that I ever have to deal with. It's alot like trying to give someone directions to a place you've never to, without knowing where they are, and while teaching them how to drive in a car that you've never been in.

couldn't agree more... I mean jeez, WTF, if you really need your computer to work the least you could do is call me, setup a time we can meet, give me physical access to the damn thing, and a 6 pack of beer (and not some crappy Schlitz)... cause god knows I'm gonna need after the crazy shiat I'm going to hear on what THEY think is wrong with their pc.

MrPickins