What do you think of CPU Unparking? Real or gimmick?

Berryracer

Platinum Member
Oct 4, 2006
Do you think there are any benefits to CPU unparking or is it a gimmick?

I have been using the below tweak for 3 months but I don't feel I am missing anything without doing it after a format.

Can someone shed some light please:

If you are an owner of a new multi-core Intel CPU for example Intel core I7 and Windows 7 or Windows Server 2008 OS, you already might notice that some of the cores in your resource monitor are marked as parked. This is a new feature of windows 7/2008 operating system that is made to balance energy consumption by your CPU. So let’s say if you are performing some tasks that do not consume a lot of CPU power, all the cores that are parked will remain in that state.

However, if you are running something that requires a lot of CPU power, all the cores, which were previously parked, will be placed in the active state (unparked) to perform the task. And after it’s done, they will be parked again.

All in all, this is a nice feature to save the energy. But if you decide to keep all of your cores active at all times, there is no way to disable CPU parking from the user interface or by running command prompt.
trans.gif

This utility will allow you to easily enable or disable core parking for your CPU. The first thing that you should do is to go to a resource manager to check if you have parked cores. The reason of doing so is that core parking is not enabled for all the multi-core CPU’s. For example, if you have Intel Q9550 Quad Core CPU you may not see any parked cores at all.

resoure-manager-u.png

Once you have started “Manage Parked CPU Utility,” you have to press “Check status button” to allow program to search registry for the keys and values that are responsible for the “core parking”.

manage-core-parking-util-1.png

manage-core-parking-util-2.png

manage-core-parking-util-3.png