What controls Turbo Core in Xeons?

Page 102 - Seeking answers? Join the AnandTech community: where nearly half-a-million members share solutions and discuss the latest tech.

xeon_fan

Junior Member
Jul 25, 2017
19
0
11
- CPU an Xeon E5-2620V4. (B0001D, SR2NX, SR2R6)
Hi, I have seen some EFI for broadwell-EP but in general it is confirmed it works only on Haswell-EP.
In other words I think it will not work on your v4 CPU and you need to have v3 xeon type of processor/
 

Aurkitu

Junior Member
Aug 18, 2013
10
0
66
Hi, I have seen some EFI for broadwell-EP but in general it is confirmed it works only on Haswell-EP.
A important part of questions, if you can explain more and link me to there EFIs for Brodwell-EP, would be ideal. But principles doubts still continues, ¿Why this CPU appear with unlocked turbo boost and the TDP? ¿Means something? ¿Is it usually in V4? ¿Could be overclockeable? If is maybe ¿What is the limit then that act as wall: the Bios or Operative System -Windows 7 64bits?


But thanks for response!
 
Last edited:

er557

Junior Member
Oct 11, 2016
11
4
51
does not work on V4 Broadwell cpu. Also cpu is unlocked does not mean anything, it still wont allow you to tweak anything, It is locked for all intents and purposes
 

Nelson Ng

Junior Member
Dec 14, 2018
1
0
6
You may try this one I`ve moded by the same principle.

http://turbofiles.net/0e60jet4ty99.html
Not 100% sure so on your own risk and be ready to restore.

And I suppose you have QS or prod. unit processor with microcode 306F2 otherwise it doesn`t work for you
Hello there, does anybody has a copy of this modded bios?
 

Aurkitu

Junior Member
Aug 18, 2013
10
0
66
does not work on V4 Broadwell cpu. Also cpu is unlocked does not mean anything, it still wont allow you to tweak anything, It is locked for all intents and purposes
That is what I observe. But then what meaning has "unlocked"?

I've always understood that if the CPU appears it's unlocked, you can "play" with it -tweak-. But if not, the limit is somewhere else. What could be blocking it then?
 

Bl@Ze

Junior Member
Aug 17, 2017
12
0
11
Intel microcode blocks the OC on to Broadwell Xeons E5-2600 Series.

Only chance is to OC via BCLK...
After 103 my setup with a Asus Z10PE-D16 and two 2699c / 128 GB RDIMM is directly unstable.

I retaked to Standard...
 

Fistbist

Junior Member
Dec 27, 2018
1
0
6
Hey everyone, i have been following this article for a little while now but i need your help.
I' m running a asus x99 impi motherboard with a e5 2696v3 on it.
My cpu did not turbo clock at all before i update the bios (from 3502 to 3802).
Now my cpu core multipler drops to x27 from x38 after the bios update when all cores at 100% use without overclocking it or pushing up the base frequency (BCLK). And even if i raise the base frequency, the overclocking failed.
 

m1919

Junior Member
May 2, 2012
7
1
81
www.elvastower.com
Have found PCH core voltage (1.05v) increase seems to have a stabilizing effected on BCLK. Now at 105 BCLK stable and have overcome the issue with QPI downgrade (had it set to Auto).

Boosts are now punching 4GHz (3990MHz).
What kind of voltage bump are you running on PCH 1.05v?

I have mine at + 0.020 currently.
 

ksanslev

Junior Member
Oct 15, 2018
4
0
11
Hello.
i have a Xeon ES QEYG
in a Asrock x99 Extreme 3

and i want it to be oc is it possible?
 

Attachments

Mar 6, 2017
136
0
61
Hello.
i have a Xeon ES QEYG
in a Asrock x99 Extreme 3

and i want it to be oc is it possible?
Only a small OC with BCLK is possible. For all-core turbo unlock you need stepping 2 E5 v3 Xeon.
 

Matr0x

Junior Member
Jan 14, 2019
1
0
6
Hi, guys. Sorry for a little off.
Is there any economical profit in early 2019 to upgrade media workflow performance of my 4.2 5820k on asus x99 to one of hifreq. 269x xeon v3 cpu`s ?
Will i miss (how much) overall gaming perf with 1080ti at 1440p 144hz on 3.3-3.6 xeon ?
Or its better to change a whole platform to ... what ?
 
Last edited:
Jul 31, 2017
89
0
51
If you dont have xeon v3 cpu, do not buy xeon v3 cpu for modding. There are so many nice alternatives like ryzen/epic/i9/i7s.
 
Apr 19, 2012
191
0
81
Hi, guys. Sorry for a little off.
Is there any economical profit in early 2019 to upgrade media workflow performance of my 4.2 5820k on asus x99 to one of hifreq. 269x xeon v3 cpu`s ?
Will i miss (how much) overall gaming perf with 1080ti at 1440p 144hz on 3.3-3.6 xeon ?
Or its better to change a whole platform to ... what ?
There is never "economic profit" with PC's unless you are actually getting paid to do something with it. If you are basically asking whether you can upgrade your CPU for cheap, keep all your other stuff and still have a decent gaming machine, then yes.. with caveats. Even with a 269x xeon overclocked, it will never have the gaming framerates a newer model lower core high clocked chip will. It will however do "computational work" related tasks much better though simply because of the core count.

So for comparison I have a E5-2699 v3 on an Asrock Extreme6 x99, 128GB ECC DDR4 and a GTX1080. It is OC'd to 3.7Ghz on all cores. If running heavy load on all the cores, it will drop down to 2.8-3.2, and there's no way around that because 18 cores is simply too many to keep at 3.7 under that load. It performs wonderfully stuff like processing video, etc, however it will not match the benchmark high frame rates of some of my other 4-6 core 4.4 OC'd machines with the same vid card. Does that matter about not matching the frame rates of my other systems? Nope. All the games "I" play run awesome on the plain ol' GTX 1080 (not Ti) so I don't feel the need to upgrade anything. In everyday use this really shines. NOTHING seems to slow it down (128GB RAM doesn't hurt either). I can be playing my games, 100 tabs open, and crunching video in the background without issue and it has been reliable as hell, which becomes much more important to me these days.

Your 5820K@4.2 should be no slouch for gaming regardless. Your not going to get better gaming from a slower Xeon proc, even if it has more cores and a bigger cache so if computational loads are not something you do, why bother? Even if you go to the latest and greatest CPU/MB, are there any current games that are NOT performing well enough on the 5820K 1080Ti @ 1440p resolution? I could see if you want to go to 4K res, but a 5820K @4.2 and a 1080Ti is not a weak combo for gaming at 1440p.
 
Last edited:

Similar threads



ASK THE COMMUNITY