What can I use to season a steak for this recipe

iamme

Lifer
Jul 21, 2001
get a "montreal steak seasoning" from the spice aisle at your grocery store.

simple and seasons the steak very well. i've used it with that pan-seared method with excellent results.

tami

Lifer
Nov 14, 2004
i don't know, but at the time of this writing, this thread appears underneath the current one, so perhaps it's telling you something.

montreal steak seasoning, fresh ground pepper, olive oil, worcestersauce, beer, garlic

Mo0o

Lifer
Jul 31, 2001
Originally posted by: tami
i don't know, but at the time of this writing, this thread appears underneath the current one, so perhaps it's telling you something.

Can you use a liquidy sauce for panseared? Sorry I'm a cooking noob.

tami

Lifer
Nov 14, 2004
Originally posted by: Mo0o
Originally posted by: tami

Can you use a liquidy sauce for panseared? Sorry I'm a cooking noob.

i don't make steak. i'm really not sure. go with the other suggestions in this thread. :p

Mo0o

Lifer
Jul 31, 2001
Originally posted by: Last Rezort
White wine, soy sauce, garlic, olive oil, pinch of basil.
Great combo.
I made it myself.

Do u marinate or just rub? ANd it works just fine w/ pan seared?

OutHouse

Lifer
Jun 5, 2000
a little salt, a little pepper thats it. you want to enhance the flavor of the meat not mask it with other crap.

everman

Lifer
Nov 5, 2002
For a pan seared ribeye like that, I "strongly" reccomend trying it with some nice bacon wrapped around the edge, although it's easier with a thick filet that isn't too wide.
It needs to be a good quality smoked bacon imo.

Last Rezort

Banned
Apr 16, 2005
Originally posted by: Mo0o
Originally posted by: Last Rezort
White wine, soy sauce, garlic, olive oil, pinch of basil.
Great combo.
I made it myself.

Do u marinate or just rub? ANd it works just fine w/ pan seared?