What a crazy call in the Packer's game

KLin

Lifer
Feb 29, 2000
30,510
798
126
They tried a halfback option from the endzone? That's stupid.
 

Mill

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
28,558
3
81
Gado was being tackled in the endzone on a run play, and he threw the ball forward. Refs ruled it intentional grounding and thus a safety. There was holding as well, but Detroit declined it. Refs huddle around for about 5 minutes, and then come back and say the ball passed the line of scrimmage and he was outside the tackle box. Thus, no safety and 2nd down.
 

KLin

Lifer
Feb 29, 2000
30,510
798
126
Originally posted by: Mill
Gado was being tackled in the endzone on a run play, and he threw the ball forward. Refs ruled it intentional grounding and thus a safety. There was holding as well, but Detroit declined it. Refs huddle around for about 5 minutes, and then come back and say the ball passed the line of scrimmage and he was outside the tackle box. Thus, no safety and 2nd down.

LMAO :laugh:. Actually a smart play to avoid the safety.
 

Mill

Lifer
Oct 10, 1999
28,558
3
81
I would really like to know if the holding was declined, or if they called holding on someone else and missed the call in the endzone?
 

Zim Hosein

Super Moderator | Elite Member
Super Moderator
Nov 27, 1999
65,432
408
126
This Sunday game is actually more interesting than my SeaHawks blowout last Monday! :D
 

Dedpuhl

Lifer
Nov 20, 1999
10,370
0
76
Originally posted by: Mill
Originally posted by: Dedpuhl
The holding was clearly in the endzone...

But Detroit declined it didn't they?

They declined b/c they had intentional grounding in the endzone. So when that was taken away, they would've accepted a holding in the endzone. The refs, however, muffed it up...
 

mpitts

Lifer
Jun 9, 2000
14,732
1
81
Originally posted by: Mill
I would really like to know if the holding was declined, or if they called holding on someone else and missed the call in the endzone?

The refs blew it. They stated that the hold occured in the field of play, not in the end zone.

The replay clearly showed that was not the case.
 

spidey07

No Lifer
Aug 4, 2000
65,469
5
76
Originally posted by: Mill
Gado was being tackled in the endzone on a run play, and he threw the ball forward. Refs ruled it intentional grounding and thus a safety. There was holding as well, but Detroit declined it. Refs huddle around for about 5 minutes, and then come back and say the ball passed the line of scrimmage and he was outside the tackle box. Thus, no safety and 2nd down.

sounds right to me.