Well, this blows (aka "What might have been")

NuclearNed

Raconteur
May 18, 2001
atot blog

In the mid to late 90's I worked as a programmer for a small telecommunications company in metro Atlanta. Basically, on the software side it was only me and my boss and maybe 2-3 contractors. I was just out of college, and while it seemed like a great entry level job, it didn't really feel like it was going anywhere. I left the company so I could move closer to home and help out with a family member who was having some personal issues. I didn't keep up with the company and lost contact with all the guys I knew there.

I was browsing around the internet today and found something disturbing.

Since the 90's, the company has exploded. It's now world-wide and an industry leader. If I had stuck it out, who knows... I might now be sitting on my own private beach in Dubai with supermodels feeding me grapes. I want to barf.

destrekor

Lifer
Nov 18, 2005
lol! mean....but I was thinking the same thing. I was going to post: maybe it exploded because you were bringing them down!

It could very well be similar, but yet a different picture:
he did his job well, but the person/people who filled his position afterward were able to offer up a lot of innovated approaches that helped propel them further. Some people do a great job but don't offer much in the way of improvement/innovation, especially if the position is one that otherwise makes a person feel like they cannot change anything.

That, and it usually takes a decent bit of time for any small local/regional company to reach that mega-national/international level.

KB

Diamond Member
Nov 8, 1999
I highly doubt you would have seen much of the big money unless you were a part owner or stock owner. Companies have a habit of keeping the money to themselves.

SandEagle

Lifer
Aug 4, 2007
everything happens for a reason.