Well that OC didn't go well...

mysticjbyrd

Golden Member
Oct 6, 2015
I have been playing and fixing PCs for nearly 20 years, but I this was my first time trying to OC one. Just my luck, I get two steps out of the gate, and fall on my face! So, could you fine gentlemen tell me where I misstepped?

Optimal i7-930 Settings:
CPU freq: 2.8 Ghz
DDR3 freq:1600 Mhz
QPI: 4.8 GT/s

HT: enabled

QPI freq: auto
Memory Ratio: auto
XMP: enabled
cpu multiplier: 21

Blck: 133
Spread spectrum: enabled
PCI Freq: auto
PCI-E freq: 100
Turbo mode: enabled

Vcore: By CPU vid
DDR3 Voltage: auto
IOH: 1.10 V
QPI uncore: Default

Level 1 OC (Preset OC option on motherboard):
CPU freq: 3.36 Ghz
DDR3 freq:1600 Mhz
QPI: ~5.7 GT/s (Forgot to write this one down, so I am unsure of the exact number, but it was OC'd)

QPI freq: auto
Memory Ratio: 10

Blck: 160
Turbo mode: disabled

Vcore: +20 mV

**This is how the PC arrived, and ran for years. It became unstable with this mild OC about a year ago. The system would seemingly run fine for days, or even weeks of casual use, and then it would randomly blue screen. (Now that I think about it, the inconsistent nature of the problem would be consistent with memory issues.)

My OC Settings:
CPU freq: 3.57 Ghz
DDR3 freq:1360 Mhz
QPI: ? (Wouldn't boot, so Idk this figure)

QPI freq: 4.8 GT/s (I lowered this in accordance with a guide I read)
Memory Ratio: 8 (I lowered this to ensure the memory didn't get OC'd, also recommended in guides I read)

Blck: 170 (I increased this by 10, a small increase)
Turbo mode: disabled

Now, what happened.

The computerredacted!

It started, then immediately shut down. Then it started again, and ran for about a minute, and shut down again. Then it would just repeat this minute on, shutdown cycle. There is no video or beeping during this time. So, I was like ohh shit, I blew something up, which I did. I swear if it wasn't for bad luck, I wouldn't have any.