WCG - 17th Birthday Challenge

Terminator_1

Member
Jul 14, 2013
34
35
91
Dear members of ANANDTECH,

For Nov 16th to Nov 22nd 2021 SETI.Germany is arranging a challenge at World Community Grid on the occasion of the grids 17th birthday:



We would like to invite ANANDTECH to participate in the challenge and hope that your team and many members of your team will be joining and participting this event.
!!Be aware, only your WCG-Team-Captain can join your team to the challenge!!
https://www.worldcommunitygrid.org/team/challenge/viewTeamChallenge.do?challengeId=10477


All WCG points of the Mapping Cancer Markers (MCM) sub-project that were credited during the challenge are counted, even if the WU was already calculated before the start of the challenge. However, WUs that are pending at the end of the challenge cannot be taken into account!

More information and statistics regarding the challenge can be found here. https://www.seti-germany.de/wcg/1_en_Welcome.html

Your participation is very much appreciated

Many Greetings: Terminator from team SETI.Germany
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,794
11,202
136
Hopefully I can get reconfigured before I go into the hospital for my surgery on the 9th. Not sure how long I will be in, so just know I will be as ready as I can be.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,794
11,202
136
Hope it all goes well Mark! Both your puters and your self reconfiguration!
Thanks ! Aside from no bladder/prostate removal, this is a complete redo of the 2018 surgery to make a "conduit" for the kidneys. The current conduit is blocked, and desiesed.(can't spell, and spelling checked is confused).

I will have almost 1000 threads/processes running.
 
  • Like
Reactions: voodoo5_6k

voodoo5_6k

Senior member
Jan 14, 2021
386
429
106
Thanks ! Aside from no bladder/prostate removal, this is a complete redo of the 2018 surgery to make a "conduit" for the kidneys. The current conduit is blocked, and desiesed.(can't spell, and spelling checked is confused).

I will have almost 1000 threads/processes running.
All the best from me too! It's a great thing you finally got this surgery scheduled. Boy, I can't imagine the pain, and all this amplified thanks to way too many "experts" not getting a free vaccine in time. Again, all the best :)
 

voodoo5_6k

Senior member
Jan 14, 2021
386
429
106
Just went over to the WCG website to switch my profile to MCM only so I don't forget this over the next few days and end up with parts of the WU queue being filled with OPN1 WUs.
 

StefanR5R

Elite Member
Dec 10, 2016
4,617
5,547
136
For your calendars: :-)

Start:
Tuesday 11/16, 11:00 AEDT, 07:00 WIB, 01:00 CET, 00:00 UTC =
Monday 11/15, 19:00 EST, 16:00 PST, 14:00 HST​

End:
Tuesday 11/23, 11:00 AEDT, 07:00 WIB, 01:00 CET, 00:00 UTC =
Monday 11/22, 19:00 EST, 16:00 PST, 14:00 HST​

________
(source of CET and UTC times: the organizers)
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,794
11,202
136
Just went over to the WCG website to switch my profile to MCM only so I don't forget this over the next few days and end up with parts of the WU queue being filled with OPN1 WUs.
I changed mine yesterday, and still have a pile of OPNG units, running even.
 

Icecold

Golden Member
Nov 15, 2004
1,047
947
146
If anybody plans on bunkering tasks, it's now safe to do so based on the task deadline(and has been sort of for a couple hours, but now it should definitely be safe)
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,794
11,202
136
If anybody plans on bunkering tasks, it's now safe to do so based on the task deadline(and has been sort of for a couple hours, but now it should definitely be safe)
Damn... With 650k per day, I could have massive bunkers... But for one, I don't know that I could release them. And the night before I go in is not the time to start bunkering, so you will all have to live with what I can give, 650k ppd.
 

cellarnoise

Senior member
Mar 22, 2017
412
238
116
Ur.. Great Mark. You worry about you. We got this!

I was going to link to this, but it is or was meant in the best spirits! And even with the adverts after 3 minutes it is good :) Herding sheep is hard? or it used to be?


Also you are an inspirational pig and not a real pig :) And this is a good follow up! Showing up is 90+% or so they say?


Best wishes once again!

Now i look up how to do "instances" once again.... :)
 
Last edited:
  • Like
Reactions: lane42

cellarnoise

Senior member
Mar 22, 2017
412
238
116
Is this challenge still on? What is up with the MCM task lengths?

Can you do these tasks by hand and if so how do you upload?
 

Endgame124

Senior member
Feb 11, 2008
859
543
136
just moved over my primary machine to mcm. If all goes well, I'll add my 2700x later today. If Not, the contest may just have my 5950 on it.
 

Icecold

Golden Member
Nov 15, 2004
1,047
947
146
I figured being the public thread there might be some people that stop on by that take it a bit less seriously than a lot of us so I figured I'd at least mention it started :) I still have a couple thousand tasks trying to upload, but I dropped somewhere around 20,000 tasks before the last stats update.
 

Markfw

CPU Moderator, VC&G Moderator, Elite Member
Super Moderator
May 16, 2002
22,794
11,202
136
I figured being the public thread there might be some people that stop on by that take it a bit less seriously than a lot of us so I figured I'd at least mention it started :) I still have a couple thousand tasks trying to upload, but I dropped somewhere around 20,000 tasks before the last stats update.
I only had 16,679. I have 500 still dumping
 

Icecold

Golden Member
Nov 15, 2004
1,047
947
146
While I understand a lot of our competitors are in European time zones and likely sleeping currently.. still a pretty strong showing to begin the race. Job well done so far everybody!
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY