Water cooling vs. Fan cooling.

Jason Rash

May 2, 2017
So I'm new to water cooling and working on building my first pc. I Like the idea of water cooling and I think it looks cool. But a little confused on the practicality of it I guess. I know that water cooling is usually used on the cpu, but I have read about the water cooling unit being used on the gpu as well. I think for visual purposes fan cooling the cpu and water cooling the gpu would be cool. But like i stated before not sure about practicality.

Thanks
Jason.

BonzaiDuck

Lifer
Jun 30, 2004
From the view of my illustrious colleagues here who are old hands at water-cooling, I'm probably the last person you'd want to hear.

Aigomorla, the King of Water-cooling gurus, might agree that, for years, I've been all talk and no walk. I've come into the forum here and there to discuss everything from evaporative cooling rigs to huge external floor-standing radiators.

So I began planning my Skylake system around last June. Between June and September, I was modding my computer case, with a plan to install either an EKWB Predator AiO "customizable" water-cooling kit, or a Swiftech H240 X2 customizable.

But I was also reading comparison reviews keen to inferential cross-references, and I was thorough psyched for the prospect of actually paying someone to de-lid my 6700K processor and then re-lid it with Liquid Ultra for a 12C temperature improvement.

With the case all ready for one of the water-coolers, I finally just decided to get a heatpipe cooler that only fell 5C behind the EKWB Predator kit. Of course, I might have added the 5C to the 12C, but I decided a net 7C improvement in that sort of comparison was good enough.

I feel humble and diminished after looking at rigs in the sticky on custom cases. Some of those rigs are works of art. I can't believe that the builders didn't spend extra time (and money) to reach their achievements in that dimension.