Warm/Hot: Cyberpower 1200VA UPS - $99 @ Microcenter

Discussion in 'Hot Deals with Free Stuff/Contests' started by PokerGuy, Nov 6, 2012.

  1. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,446
    Likes Received:
    3
  2. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been nothing but impressed with Cyberpower units. Much better built than APC and more software features too. Probably better still would only be a high-end Eaton unit. But man-o-man are those spendy.
     
  3. PingSpike

    PingSpike Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    20,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm thinking of getting one for my main rig, already have one for my little server. One thing that really annoys me about UPSes are the annoying loud beeping alarm when the power goes out. On my old cyberpower there didn't seem to be any easy way to disable it, it was loud and annoying and useless, I already knew the power was out anyway....all it did was drive me nuts while I looked for a flashlight.
     
  4. kleinkinstein

    kleinkinstein Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 16, 2012
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    0
    Programmable on the new version of the PowerPanel software.
     
  5. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,446
    Likes Received:
    3
    I agree, that incessant beeping is annoying as all hell. Fortunately, there's a setting to disable that alarm now in the power panel.
     
  6. qliveur

    qliveur Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    Be aware that simulated sine wave UPSes like this one might not be compatible with active-PFC PSUs, which is why CyberPower started producing the PFC line that produces a pure sine wave.

    YMMV.
     
  7. mshan

    mshan Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2004
    Messages:
    7,869
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do any of these Cyberpower units have a low level hum or buzz while operating?

    And any major difference vs. the ones with the LCD screen on them?
     
  8. SunRey

    SunRey Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2003
    Messages:
    2,472
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank You!
     
  9. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,446
    Likes Received:
    3
    I don't know if others have a buzz or humm to them, but mine does not. It just pretty much sits there quietly.

    I previously had an APC one that had an LCD on it. It's very nice/useful to be able to see the current status, wattage draw, battery status and so forth on the LCD, but I don't think it's worth paying a big premium for. You get all the same information (and a lot more) through the power panel on a PC connected to the device by USB cable.
     
  10. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,446
    Likes Received:
    3
    No problem, I've gotten lots of good deals over the years from here, glad to be able to share a good deal with others.
     
  11. hansmuff

    hansmuff Senior member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2000
    Messages:
    609
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been happy with CyberPower. One of the lower-end units, a -500 of some sort, once was completely destroyed due to a nearby lightning strike. Every peripheral connected to it was fine, every peripheral not connected to it got zapped badly. I was quite impressed by that.
     
  12. bradley

    bradley Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    For people affected by Sandy, it also won't be able to power off of a generator. I'm waiting for a good deal on the PFC line, I hope this Black Friday.
     
  13. qliveur

    qliveur Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my CP1000PFCLCD for $99 a couple of years ago.

    It hasn't been that cheap since.
     
  14. NAC

    NAC Golden Member

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2000
    Messages:
    1,050
    Likes Received:
    1
    Really?

    I thought that the input frequency is what is important for running one of these off a generator, and if the output waveform is simulated or not only impacts if the computer powersupply would accept it. This model and the cheapest PFC model I looked at both have input frequency of 57Hz - 63Hz.
     
  15. thecoolnessrune

    thecoolnessrune Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2005
    Messages:
    8,555
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep, It's the input frequency that matters. Most UPS's (the above included) share the same frequency handling as the output of generators (+/-5% on 60Hz). That being said, the power coming from generators is often very noisy and full of harmonics. That's why most UPS setups that are designed to run off of standby generator are the Online variety instead of Interactive variety. Portable Generators produce some of the worst power quality as far as delivery is concerned, so if this UPS is going to be interacting with a generator often, or integrated into some household Automatic Transfer system, it is worth moving to an Online unit like an Eaton hybrid / online generator or a full house online Generator (like an APC On-Line SmartUPS or Symmetra unit). An online generator separates the input and output entirely by converting the incoming AC to DC and then the DC to a pure sine wave. That way regardless of the type or quality of the power coming in, you can be certain that the power coming out is clean as can be expected.

    But all being said, I suppose that's beyond this conversation. Any such units are many many times more than this unit is.

    Top protect my plasma television and computer, I bought an APC SMT1500 used for $200. Its line interactive but when the power goes off (once or twice a month) the TV or computer doesn't even notice a hiccup (heck, the power in battery mode is cleaner than in standard mode because of the pure sine wave it generates off battery power.)
     
  16. qliveur

    qliveur Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2007
    Messages:
    3,734
    Likes Received:
    0
    ^Informative post.

    The CyberPower PFC line is supposed to be able to run off of a generator, though I don't profess to know as much about this as you do.
     
  17. PingSpike

    PingSpike Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    20,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmmm, not sure if mine has this issue or not. I'm pretty sure this is the PSU I'm using:
    Enchance ENP-5150GH
    http://www.enhanceusa.com/file/72_specification.pdf
     
  18. VirtualLarry

    VirtualLarry Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2001
    Messages:
    33,335
    Likes Received:
    26
    That's what I have in my server, with 10 2TB HDs.

    Please let me know if this UPS works for you.
     
  19. bradley

    bradley Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the information. Feel free to extrapolate. I do speak from experience however, as only my active-PFC worked off of my brother-in-law's generator during a 6-day outage, not his simulated sine-wave unit. Though there could be other factors at work here. I just hope he gives me back my unit, as he seems taken with it. :)
     
  20. fleshconsumed

    fleshconsumed Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2002
    Messages:
    4,241
    Likes Received:
    2
    One, generators aside (never owned one), I have never had any problems running simulated wave UPS'es with active PFC power supplies, and even though the web is abuzz with warnings against it, surprisingly, there are very few (I'm almost tempted to say none) first hand accounts of simulated wave UPS'es not working with active PFC. So personally I'm convinced this is just a ploy to upsell you to more expensive pure sine UPS.

    Two, isn't 1350VA model $89.99 at Costco? Although call first, availability may vary from store to store.
     
  21. jalaram

    jalaram Lifer

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2000
    Messages:
    12,916
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unfortunately, MC is no longer so close to me, so with shipping, it's only $5 less than Amazon.
     
  22. Basilisk

    Basilisk Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2000
    Messages:
    774
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's not listed on Costco's site, but I do recall some UPS being on their shelf and will check. I suspect that here in Sandy-landfall territory [NJ, DE, NY, CO], UPS's are no more on the shelves this week than generators are.

    I've four UPS's around the house (TV[=Monitor], LAN, computer, stereo) so when we lost Power -- 5 minutes after I emailed that "Sandy" was abating and nothing hurt us -- I laughed and turned the TV back on (it always shuts-down during a UPS transition to battery)... and found my ISP (Comcast) had failed along with the Power. Sigh. [Comcast returned after 30 hrs.]

    Powering LED light bulbs, the re-purposed UPS's kept lights on wherever I required them for the 40 hour outage.
     
  23. bradley

    bradley Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,664
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've never owned anything other than a pure sine wave UPS. However you will definitely find documented cases of cheaper square wave (or step sine wave) backups wreaking havoc with active PFC power supplies, in the form of whine/buzz, instability or even making them inoperable. I'd imagine this scenario would be made more probable depening on the voltage of your linesource, whether US or Europe, and the components of the actual power supply itself.

    Fluctuations wrought by square waves could also damage (over time) sensitive equipment, including capacitors. Obviously, a pure sine wave backup should measure zero distortion meaning less electrical resistance and power consumption.
     
    #23 bradley, Nov 7, 2012
    Last edited: Nov 7, 2012
  24. PingSpike

    PingSpike Lifer

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    20,579
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well, I was more asking if it would work for me first! :p

    Regardless, I think I'll end up passing on this. Its a good deal but with shipping its pretty expensive when my main PC can get by on something for half as much.
     
  25. PokerGuy

    PokerGuy Lifer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    12,446
    Likes Received:
    3
    Some very good information in this thread, thanks guys. This UPS seems to work fine with the two PC's I have hooked up to it. To test it, I just unplugged the power cord to the UPS and the two PC's kept humming along happily for at least 20 mins. I'm sure I'll do more testing, but it seems fine right now.