Warhammer Online -- HD 4850 or HD 4870?

rakuhntur

Oct 21, 2008
I'm just now gathering my list of components. I will be building a new PC (~$1,100 for everything) and mostly will be playing Warhammer Online with it.

Since I'm on a budget, I'm looking for the best GPU/Monitor "bang for your buck". I have found this http://www.newegg.com/Product/...x?Item=N82E16824236027 for the monitor and it looks pretty good IMO. The res is at 1440x900 so I'm assuming that'll be fine (I've always worked on laptops so 19" is a nice increase for me).

Now, onto the the GPU... after doing some research, the single HD 4850 seems to be a great deal but I'm wondering if I should put in the extra $ for a HD 4870. I'm new to this but from my understanding the HD 4870 is better for large monitors/high rez -- does my 1440x900 19" count as "high rez" in terms of gaming? Warhammer Online has some huge RvR so there are moments with 100+ people around fighting. I want to be able to play through this smoothly so I'm curious as to whether the HD 4850 will be enough.

Any input/advice/suggestions are much appreciated. If you think there is a better GPU/Monitor "bang for your buck" out there then please point me in the right direction. BUT, remember I'm on a budget. :)

Thanks!

narcotic

Golden Member
Jul 15, 2004
I just got a HD4850 card, it was an amazing upgrade from my 7600GT...
A HD4870 will also require a stronger PSU, so you might want to keep that in mind, because it can cost you more than the PSU you were planning to get.
For what you described you need your PC for, it seems like the HD4850 would be more than enough, but like with many other things, if you can afford it, then why not go for the best...

IcePickFreak

Platinum Member
Jul 12, 2007
4850 should be fine, I play with my 8800GTS G92 on maxed out settings. OC'ing the card makes really no difference in this game, it seems the large RvR battles tax the CPU much more.

rakuhntur

Oct 21, 2008
Originally posted by: narcotic