Wacky E8400 CoreTemp and SpeedFan temps...

Saicho

Jan 29, 2008
GA-EP35-DS3R, E8400 + Tuniq tower 120 + AS5 in an Antec P182 running 64bit Vista.

I haven't changed any settings, I wanted to get a baseline before I started overclocking.

I have prime95 running and CoreTemp is showing 69 and 66 for my cores?!?!

SpeedFan is even wackier, with the +15 degree offset it is showing 70 and 60...

If I take the side of the case off the temps in CoreTemp drop to around 62 and 60.

It's a bit warm in this room but serriously! 69 degrees with an aftermarket HSF running on stock settings?!?

So after I saw it at 69 degrees, I decided to restart and see what the BIOS had to say. 15 seconds later I pull into the BIOS and the PC Health section reads that my CPU is at 45 degrees.

What numbers do I trust? I'm a bit new to overclocking so any advice will be helpful. Thanks!

Pantlegz

Diamond Member
Jun 6, 2007
what thermal paste did you use?

I had similar issues becase I used some junk thermal paste. Might also want to make sure you don't have a fan 'fighting' the TT120 fan. I know it's not likely, but sometimes it happens. That and maybe make sure the thumb screws are tight, again they should be might wanna double check. Speed fan and everest both report correct temps for me with an e8400 and eVGA 780i board.

how do you get core temp to work in Vista64?!? aside from breaking driver signing?

Riverhound777

Diamond Member
Aug 13, 2003
What is your CPU temp? My CPU temp reads around 26/47 while my cores read 47/65. I don't pay attention to the core temps anymore on this CPU.

Saicho

Jan 29, 2008
Originally posted by: Pantlegz1
how do you get core temp to work in Vista64?!? aside from breaking driver signing?

I broke driver signing and I run it in administrator mode, I also uninstalled two Vista updates. I can't find the stuff I read about it, but this looks promising.