VX2265wm 120hz Four Screen Split

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by zer0darkfire, Dec 24, 2012.

  1. zer0darkfire

    zer0darkfire Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    1) I'm new to these fourms, but it's the first place I thought of to get help
    2) I know there is at least one other post about this that has been resolved

    However, I just recently purchased a VX2265wm ViewSonic Monitor.

    I know that it can display in a 120hz refresh rate.

    I know that my graphics card (Nvidia GTS 450) supports this.

    I know I have a DVI-D Dual Link video cable.

    I don't think it matters, but I have the IR emitter, and the Nvidia glasses. (3D Kit)

    But, the screen still splits into four whenever I try to set it to 120hz. Should I assume the cable is bad, or possibly the monitor? Any help would be appreciated, thank you.

    Screenshots: http://i.imgur.com/91NNf.jpg http://i.imgur.com/08WvB.jpg http://i.imgur.com/KHlCC.jpg
     
  2. zer0darkfire

    zer0darkfire Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Politely bumping
     
  3. Ben90

    Ben90 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does it work properly when at 60Hz? What about 90/100/110 ect. I would first try to play around with the refresh rate. If for example it starts going wonky at 100Hz, it might be the cable.

    If it only has problems at 120Hz it could be a software problem where things are trying to go into 3D, try disconnecting the IR emitter and stuff.
     
  4. zer0darkfire

    zer0darkfire Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    It works fine until about 68hz (I went up 1 by 1), and then it starts to split the screen up. It still split when I disconnected the Emitter. I'm thinking I should just try another cable, they aren't that expensive.
     
  5. WaitingForNehalem

    WaitingForNehalem Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw this happening at Fry's because they were using a single-link DVI-D cable. Just to make sure, your cable looks like the one in the picture below right?

    [​IMG]

    If so, try another cable.
     
  6. zer0darkfire

    zer0darkfire Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yep, I know I have a DVI-D Dual link, looks just like that one. Thinking the cable may be faulty.
     
  7. zer0darkfire

    zer0darkfire Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2012
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Haha! Got a new cable and it worked. (the other dual link was faulty apparently). Glad it wasn't my monitor. Thanks everyone : )
     
  8. Ben90

    Ben90 Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2009
    Messages:
    2,866
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sweet, glad it got figured out.