Video card won't display start screen after memory upgrade

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by ArJuN, Jan 9, 2013.

  1. ArJuN

    ArJuN Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just added memory to a Dell Inspiron 620 and am having weird results in regards to the video card. I have a GT 430 in there. When the video card is removed, the computer displays normally through the onboard HDMI port. But when I add the video card into the mix, the bios screen shows, and the loading screen for the Windows OS shows. After that it's still black. My display is getting a video signal because it doesn't go to sleep. The computer is clearly running normally aside from the video. It's CPU is running, there is HDD activity, and I can access files over the LAN. Any thoughts? I have the latest BIOS and drivers on it.
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Video card display Forum Date
    Video card dead? Green screen, now no display. Computer Help Oct 7, 2016
    Display messed up... is it video card or monitor? Computer Help Dec 21, 2010
    Faulty Video Card or CPU? How to tell - No display Computer Help Feb 10, 2009
    Video card seems to stop outputting a signal when I switch inputs on the display. Computer Help May 21, 2008
    Video Card prob or Display Driver? Computer Help Feb 21, 2006

  3. sm625

    sm625 Diamond Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2011
    Messages:
    7,849
    Likes Received:
    60
    Windows can be incredibly stupid in the way it handles multiple displays. You would think that if you only have one display connected to all your various ports, then that is the one it would use! But it is not always so!

    Is there any way you can connect a 2nd monitor to your onboard vga/hdmi port, so that you can configure it to turn it off? Or maybe you can turn off your onboard (integrated) video in the bios. I would try the bios option first. Most likely what happened is that when you upgraded your memory, somehow the bios settings reverted back to default settings. This would have enabled the integrated gpu, whilst windows still thinks you're using the discrete. Leading to a level of confusion that these two billion dollar companies simply could not, and probably never will figure out.
     
  4. ArJuN

    ArJuN Platinum Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,816
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried connecting three different monitors at the same time (2 HDMI and 1 VGA). All of the on board video outs said that the output is disabled and to connect to the video card. But the video card outputs still showed nothing. Right now I'm actually getting zero video output, so I'm going to try swapping the RAM back to the original and see what it does.