Video card help pretty pls for new HP ZR24w

oshun

Sep 10, 2011
[FONT=&quot]Okay so let me preface my question by saying I’m TOTALLY intimidated by coming on this board and stepping my somewhat clueless self-amongst the folks who have technology expertise. As evidenced by this being my first post, I’m clearly a newbie here. I attempted to do a search in hopes of finding an answer, but alas I'm stuck.

Essentially, I just purchased a 24" HP ZR24w monitor and hooked it up last night to my pc. My former monitor was a Dell Ultrasharp 1800FP (hooked up via DV & worked perfectly) so this was a fairly big and exciting upgrade for me. I don’t have the most amazing system with all the bells and whistles…and I'm not tech savvy when it comes to hardware so I was anxious to see if the monitor would work with my current video card. My fears panned out in that when I set everything up (again via the DVI connection) and attempted to play a few videos, I got substantial interruption in the playing and alot of weird white crackling effect throughout the majority of the picture. There’s less crackle when I reduce the picture to half size. My monitor also blacks out every few seconds which is gawd awful annoying. Hate to be so clueless but I want to rule out the monitor as being the problem and see if its the card. Any help in choosing the correct video card would be greatly appreciated!!! I'm doing the best I can, but I'm learning.....

I did a quick Everest report so whoever chimes in can see my mobo and current card info. Apologies if I included too much or too little info:

Computer
Computer Type - ACPI x86-based PC
Operating System - [/FONT][FONT=&quot]Microsoft Windows 7 Ultimate[/FONT][FONT=&quot]
OS Service Pack - Service Pack 1
DirectX - [/FONT][FONT=&quot]DirectX 11.0[/FONT][FONT=&quot]

[/FONT]
[FONT=&quot]Motherboard:[/FONT][FONT=&quot]
CPU Type - [/FONT][FONT=&quot]DualCore Intel Pentium D 950, 3400 MHz (17 x 200)[/FONT][FONT=&quot]