Video Card for Encoding/Rendering

swilli89

Golden Member
Mar 23, 2010
Hey guys, long time reader and lurker here.

I'm a small time videographer as well as a student and am looking into using a video card to accelerate my video encoding and rendering.

Currently, the longest time draws in the process (besides editing of course!) of making my videos are capturing, rendering any effects, and encoding the final file to be put on disc. Obviously I can't help the capturing process as it is strictly in real time, at least for me so I am looking to speed up the latter two. I remember reading in different places sometime ago that modern graphics cards can help the CPU when encoding or rendering. My system is as follows

Core 2 Q6600 at 3.0 ghz
4 GB DDR2 - 800
Radeon 1950xt 256mb (i know, i know)
Asus P5W DH Delux

Now of course I would love to have a 980x and 12 gb ram and quadfire 5870's but that is NOT in the cards for me. I simply want to know the most economical GPU solution to aid in what I am doing. I use the latest version of Adobe's creative suite including Encore DVD, Premier Pro, and After Effects.

Can anyone recommend a card for this job or at least point me to an article where that is examined? All of the reviews I read are strictly FPS charts for games. Thanks!

swilli89

Golden Member
Mar 23, 2010
Well nevermind, I can't believe this bullshit I read at adobe.com

http://www.adobe.com/products/creativesuite/production/performance/

http://www.nvidia.com/object/adobe_mercury_playback_engine.html

It seems that not only does Premier Pro STILL not support GPU's for hardware encoding, but when it does in a "future release" it will ONLY be nVidia cards! If you look at the video on that site of encoding performance, I was floored by the improvement that using a video card gives. I can't say how many hours I have been just waiting by my computer as it encodes, sometimes 3 or 4 hour encoding sessions!