• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Video card for BF3

bdizzle28

Junior Member
Aug 25, 2011
21
0
0
Hi, I'm considering buying Battlefield 3 but my current video card, 9800 gtx, won't be able to handle it and I'm wondering what's the best video card for under $200 (preferably $150) for my system? I wanna be able to play at 1680 x 1050 without any lag.


I have an Intel core 2 duo E3110 @ 3.50 ghz
4gb ram
windows 7 64 bit
 

Chinoman

Senior member
Jan 17, 2005
336
0
76
I'd say either the Gigabyte or XFX model. I just noticed your processor and wanted to advise upgrading that as well. Quad cores are recommended for BF3.
 

Termie

Diamond Member
Aug 17, 2005
7,949
47
91
www.techbuyersguru.com
I'd say either the Gigabyte or XFX model. I just noticed your processor and wanted to advise upgrading that as well. Quad cores are recommended for BF3.
Indeed - you will be bottlenecked by your CPU. That being said, a $150CN HD6870 is still a good value. You could spend a bit less for a lot less performance, but this will hold you over until you upgrade the CPU. I'd get the XFX - it's the cheapest and has a nice warranty.
 

jwright30

Member
Jul 12, 2008
161
0
76
If that is in fact a Xeon 3110, I don't see how that will cause a bottleneck. In my limited research I have found that the high end C2Ds with a bit of overclocking are still competent little processors. I am pretty sure that you don't bottleneck with something like that till you get into higher end CF or SLI setups.
 

toyota

Lifer
Apr 15, 2001
12,957
1
0
If that is in fact a Xeon 3110, I don't see how that will cause a bottleneck. In my limited research I have found that the high end C2Ds with a bit of overclocking are still competent little processors. I am pretty sure that you don't bottleneck with something like that till you get into higher end CF or SLI setups.
you need to do way more research. :p

although is not much of a bottleneck for any single gpu, it is one nonetheless. the BF 3 Alpha numbers do not look good for Core 2 duos at all so it looks to be quite a massive limitation just in general for BF 3 at this point.
 
Last edited:

Capt Caveman

Lifer
Jan 30, 2005
34,547
651
126
you need to do way more research. :p

although is not much of a bottleneck for any single gpu, it is one nonetheless. the BF 3 Alpha numbers do not look good for Core 2 duos at all so it looks to be quite a massive limitation just in general for BF 3 at this point.
Yep, you need a Quad.
 

jwright30

Member
Jul 12, 2008
161
0
76
Very true, I had not looked much into BF3 and c2ds. It was just that up till recently that most games still did fine on a hot clocked C2D.

you need to do way more research. :p

although is not much of a bottleneck for any single gpu, it is one nonetheless. the BF 3 Alpha numbers do not look good for Core 2 duos at all so it looks to be quite a massive limitation just in general for BF 3 at this point.
 

bdizzle28

Junior Member
Aug 25, 2011
21
0
0
Darn. Looks like I won't be playing bf3 =[. If I end up buyin another CPU and video card I will probably need another mb and then an entire new computer. Just don't have the money right now. Thanks guys I appreciate the help.
 

Crap Daddy

Senior member
May 6, 2011
610
0
0
So that's a 2 core xeon overclocked, I'd say it will work on BF3 but lag is included. Quad is the way to go. As for the GPU the 6870 or the 460GTX 1G would get you playable framerates. We don't know the recommended requirements yet but all that we saw until now, demos and multiplayer was done on GTX580 or SLi GTX580. So...
 

bdizzle28

Junior Member
Aug 25, 2011
21
0
0
Yah I guess I was expecting too much from my duo core. I'll save up a bit and I'll have to buy an entire new system but just kinda hesitant to buy an entire new system for a game.
 

Crap Daddy

Senior member
May 6, 2011
610
0
0
Well get a new GPU. That will definitely help. See what you get with BF3 and if you have the cash, spend it.
 

Spjut

Senior member
Apr 9, 2011
899
85
91
If your motherboard supports it you could look around for a cheap Core 2 Quad
 

Vdubchaos

Lifer
Nov 11, 2009
10,413
9
0
Don't speculate/assume.

Wait until the darn game comes out.

a) read reviews/make sure it's worth buying
b) see reviews on CPU/GPU
c) upgrade/buy hardware as needed
 

SickBeast

Lifer
Jul 21, 2000
14,377
17
81
OP wait until the game comes out. GPU prices typically drop like a rock.

I'm personally hoping my GTX 460 SLI setup can handle BF3 when it comes out. I have a feeling 768mb of vram will not be enough. :(
 

happy medium

Lifer
Jun 8, 2003
14,387
475
126
Thats 140$AR for the gtx560. :)

You are better off with a factory overclocked gtx560ti for 184$AR
http://www.superbiiz.com/detail.php?name=GX-560_1G&title=Galaxy-nVidia-GeForce-GTX560-Ti-1GB-DDR5-2DVI-Mini-HDMI-PCI-Express-Video-Card

Edit: With your cpu just grab a gtx560 for 140$AR .
There will be no difference between a gtx560 and a 6870 with your cpu.
 
Last edited:

BladeVenom

Lifer
Jun 2, 2005
13,540
16
0
Wait till the game comes out before you decide. See how it does in benchmarks, and see what the new Radeon cards are like. At least the old video cards will likely be cheaper then.

I'm guessing your current CPU will be good enough.
 

conlan

Diamond Member
Jan 27, 2001
3,395
0
76
Darn. Looks like I won't be playing bf3 =[. If I end up buyin another CPU and video card I will probably need another mb and then an entire new computer. Just don't have the money right now. Thanks guys I appreciate the help.
Naw, I was in the same boat and upgraded to a Q9450 and R6870. It will run BF3 fine @ reasonable resolution till i'm able to upgrade.
 

skipsneeky2

Diamond Member
May 21, 2011
5,035
0
71
I bet a 9800gtx will do low on 1680x1050 i would wait for the beta and go from there.

There is videos on youtube of people playing it at 1920x1080 with a 5770 which isn't worlds better then a 9800gtx.

Op i got a old 9800gtx sitting around around beta i will personally test it find the best playable settings and make a thread with my results. :)

Edit: Will test it with a stock e8200 and 4gb and a 2500k stock and overclocked to 4.3hzs
 
Last edited:

ASK THE COMMUNITY