Vehicle troubles... buy a new one?

GeekDrew

Diamond Member
Jun 7, 2000
LONG post. Cliff's notes at the end.

This was written a few days ago and posted on another forum... so the dates may be slightly off.

I graduated from high school in May 03 (I'm now 19), and received a '99 Ford Explorer XLS (2WD) as a graduation gift from my grandmother. It was purchased from a local dealership, who had promised they just put new brakes on it, and a new serpintine belt, among a list of other things. I had the serpintine belt replaced in mid-November. By early December, my brakes started feeling very weak, so I took the truck by Tuffy. They said they had about 20% remaining on them, and that I would be good to go for a few more months. I took the truck back to them on or about Feb 18th, and got it back around the 21st. They said they had to basically rebuild the entire braking system, as it was all pretty much trashed, and they charged me an outrageous (or so I've heard) $700.

The brakes didn't feel quite right, so I took the truck back on the 27th. They just said to stomp on the brakes very hard a few times from a high speed (cautiously, of course), and the problem should clear up. I left there, and drove to a restaurant to eat w/ my parents. Left about 45 minutes later. A couple of miles away, I noticed that the temperature was starting to climb steadily. Over the course of the next 30 miles, I noticed that if I left the cabin heater turned on, the engine temp returned to near normal range, but if I turned it off, the temp climbed steeply. Solution? Drive with the heat on and windows down. The temp never climbed above normal. I also noticed that nobody would follow me down a rather busy highway - they would always change lanes, even if we were going the same speed. At the time, I found it peculiar, but didn't think much of it.