Originally posted by: rnp614
What the hell is up with PAC10 refs. They're so terrible...the huskies got a first at the 15 with 5 or 6 seconds left and the refs let the time run down to 2 seconds even though the first down was clear..
The Huskies (4-2, 2-1) had moved from their own 20 to threaten in the closing moments. Isaiah Stanback completed a 19-yard pass to Sonny Shackelford to get Washington a first down at the USC 15 with 2 seconds left and the clock stopped to move the chains.
Officials huddled before spotting the ball and finally starting the clock. Then before Washington could get a play off, officials signaled the game was over.
Originally posted by: Syringer
Wow, I didn't see the game but it looks like Washington had a hell of a chance to win the game.
But does it really matter if there were 5 seconds or 2 seconds left? In either case that's only time for one more play.
Originally posted by: Syringer
The Huskies (4-2, 2-1) had moved from their own 20 to threaten in the closing moments. Isaiah Stanback completed a 19-yard pass to Sonny Shackelford to get Washington a first down at the USC 15 with 2 seconds left and the clock stopped to move the chains.
Officials huddled before spotting the ball and finally starting the clock. Then before Washington could get a play off, officials signaled the game was over.
Hmm, looks like they might've gotten screwed..
Originally posted by: tfinch2
Originally posted by: Syringer
The Huskies (4-2, 2-1) had moved from their own 20 to threaten in the closing moments. Isaiah Stanback completed a 19-yard pass to Sonny Shackelford to get Washington a first down at the USC 15 with 2 seconds left and the clock stopped to move the chains.
Officials huddled before spotting the ball and finally starting the clock. Then before Washington could get a play off, officials signaled the game was over.
Hmm, looks like they might've gotten screwed..
How did they get screwed? Aren't those the new rules in NCAA?
Originally posted by: Syringer
And based on what the OP said there should've been 5-6 ticks left, enough to get into formation and snap it off for a final play, possibly two. With just two seconds there's much less room for error, as you have to be on the line pretty much as soon as the ball is set.
no, the clock starts when the ref walks away from the ball. the clock started when it was supposed to.Originally posted by: flxnimprtmscl
On the flip side of that coin the clock should have been started a few seconds before it actually was. You pick up a first down and the clock stops. Then once the balls marked and the chains are reset you start the clock again which didn't happen. Pac -10 officials are horrible but they didn't screw UW.
Originally posted by: Syringer
What do you mean? The basis of your post is that there should've been 5-6 seconds left, that is, how much time was left when the previous play ended. The clock stops and then starts again when it's set..and a few seconds later once Washington is set at the line they have the ability to snap it for one last play.
What happened instead though is that the clock ticked for 3 seconds after the play ended when it should've stopped becuase of the first down, but since it didn't, it started again FROM 2 seconds, which isn't enough time to get off a play that UW should've gotten.
Originally posted by: yosuke188
Originally posted by: Syringer
What do you mean? The basis of your post is that there should've been 5-6 seconds left, that is, how much time was left when the previous play ended. The clock stops and then starts again when it's set..and a few seconds later once Washington is set at the line they have the ability to snap it for one last play.
What happened instead though is that the clock ticked for 3 seconds after the play ended when it should've stopped becuase of the first down, but since it didn't, it started again FROM 2 seconds, which isn't enough time to get off a play that UW should've gotten.
Exactly. So basically the 3 seconds they lost cost them the last play of the game, when they could have had a shot at the endzone.
[Washington coach Tyrone] Willingham said his only problem with how the officials handled the final play was the setting of the clock. He said there should have been a minimum of four seconds remaining.
But he said he had no issues with the rest of the sequence, saying the play was a "unique" set of circumstances that made it difficult for all involved.
And ultimately, he said, the blame rested on his shoulders for not having the Huskies ready to run a play quickly enough to beat the clock.
"Regardless of whether it was five or two seconds on the clock, I felt like we should have gotten a play off," Willingham said. "And I just didn't do my job to get us up and over the ball quick enough to get it done."
One reporter said it looked like the Huskies were ready, but Willingham shook his head.
"We were still kind of moving around, feeling the officials, trying to get exactly where we were," he said. "It would have been my job to get them simply on the ball and get them going."
Willingham said he would have liked to have been able to discuss the clock situation with the officials but was not allowed. Willingham said there is no "protocol" for such situations, nor do the officials have to explain it to coaches or players. Such timing issues cannot be reviewed by instant replay.
Washington center Juan Garcia said after the game he thought the umpire started the clock more quickly than he had been previously after putting the ball in play. But Willingham said he didn't think that was an issue, again citing the "unique" nature of the play. Willingham said he thought the huddle by the officials made the whole sequence "confusing" for players and coaches on both sides.
Willingham said the Huskies often practice last-minute situations, but rarely have practiced getting off a snap with just two seconds left. But, he said to laughter, "we will now."
Willingham confirmed that the new clock rules this season did not affect that play ? those rules pertain only to kickoffs (the clock now starts when the ball is kicked rather than when it is caught) and the first play following a change of possession.
