UPS Shipping Problem. Address Validation.

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by mcvickj, Jan 3, 2005.

  1. mcvickj

    mcvickj Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am trying to ship a hard drive back to Maxtor under an RMA and halfway through the process I receive this error message. "The Ship To address provided was not found in our address database, or requires additional information. (UPS 80333)"

    I have triple checked the address from the one listed in the e-mail sent from Maxtor and it is correct.

    The address is question is....
    Maxtor Corporation
    c/o Solectron Global Services
    7100 Cattlemens Drive, Suite 300
    Santa Teresa, NM 88008

    I have contacted UPS and I am waiting to hear what they have to say. I have never ran into this kind of problem. Any ideas??

    Here is a screen shot for those who like pictures.
     
  2. RossMAN

    RossMAN Grand Nagus

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2000
    Messages:
    78,041
    Likes Received:
    43
    Try this instead:

    7100 CATTLEMANS AVE STE 300
    SANTA TERESA NM 88008-9737
     
  3. ElFenix

    ElFenix Elite Member<br> Super Moderator<br>Off Topic
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2000
    Messages:
    96,300
    Likes Received:
    174
    i would put ste 300 on the second line.
     
  4. mcvickj

    mcvickj Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    RossMAN - That didn't work.

    ElFenix - I tried the address with the STE 300 on the 2nd line but that didn't work.

    I would just say screw it and ship the drive with someone else but we have an account with UPS. If UPS can't verify the address I don't want to use someone else and then have the drive lost in shipping hell. I am trying to get ahold of someone in Maxtor's CS department to verify the address.
     
  5. MisterJackson

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    10,862
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are correct. I sent a drive to the very address and that's how I resolved my UPS problem.

    What's up Ross. I still haven't forgotten my space.
     
  6. jreed012

    jreed012 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2004
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    You have some huge zipcode on the screen shot. Might be your culpriit. Try just the 5 digit ZIP and see if that works.
     
  7. mcvickj

    mcvickj Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2001
    Messages:
    4,599
    Likes Received:
    0
    jreed012 - I tried using both the 5 digit and the 5 + 4 digit zip code. It doesn't seem to matter.