Upgrading to Server 2012 Datacenter w/96GB ram

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by Insomniator, Feb 1, 2013.

  1. Insomniator

    Insomniator Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    6,092
    Likes Received:
    109
    I have a 2008 R2 Server that I need to upgrade to Server 2012 Datacenter. I know upgrading is not recommended but wiping this server and starting over would be a total pita.

    Problem is that the server has 96GB of memory and only 100GB free on C: (total of 130GB). Windows won't install because it says it needs at least 99GB of free space on C:. So I decrease the page file enough to get to ~103GB free and run the upgrade again - now it says it needs 111GB!

    I assume this has something to do with the amount of memory/page file settings. Could I just remove the ram down to 32GB, then install, then re-install the rest of the ram?
     
  2. Loading...

    Similar Threads - Upgrading Server Datacenter Forum Date
    upgrading from server 2012 R2 essentials to R2 standard Operating Systems Dec 12, 2016
    Planning upgrade to Win 2012 Essentials Server from WHS-2011 Operating Systems Apr 29, 2016
    Will Windows Server "10" be free to upgrade from WS2012R2 too? Operating Systems Jan 21, 2015
    Upgrading KMS server keys Operating Systems Jan 14, 2014
    Windows Home Server (original) - can you upgrade the hardware without OS reinstall? Operating Systems Mar 11, 2013

  3. JackMDS

    JackMDS Super Moderator<BR>Elite Member
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 1999
    Messages:
    28,206
    Likes Received:
    71
    While the absolute min. HD is 32GB wether you have 8GB RAM 16, or 96, each requires a different size of Hard Drive partition for the OS. ( http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/library/jj134246.aspx ).

    The installation routine has its own algorithm to evaluate the current situation, as a result manipulating part of the system often does not work.

    I assume that the server is running 24/7 for a while on the current drive, it might be a good idea to get a New less "tired drive" too.

    Try to clone the current drive to a larger drive, then try to upgrade the installation that is on the larger drive.

    Take out the old drive and leave it alone as a backup until the new installation works.


    :cool:
     
    #2 JackMDS, Feb 1, 2013
    Last edited: Feb 1, 2013