Upgrading my Graphics Card

Discussion in 'Video Cards and Graphics' started by ulster1486, Sep 12, 2012.

1. ulster1486

ulster1486 Junior Member

I was experiencing some issues with my PCs performance whilst running certain games, (such as Skyrim, Guild Wars 2, BattleField 3) and one of my friends has told me that it's because my card uses Hyper Memory. It is a AMD Radeon 5450. Is this the case or are there options I have yet to activate to optimize for my card? I am somewhat new to graphics card terms, but if it is a case that my card isn't good enough what Graphics Card would you recommend for these games? I have a prepared budget of £400 - £500 (at a push) and I will be very grateful for any help.

Moved From PC Gaming

Anandtech Moderator
    KeithTalent

2. Loading...

Similar Threads - Upgrading Graphics Card Forum Date
    Looking to upgrade my video card. Video Cards and Graphics Sep 5, 2016
    Graphics Card upgrade? Video Cards and Graphics Jan 12, 2016
    Advice on Graphics card upgrade Video Cards and Graphics Jan 23, 2015
    Graphics card upgrade - Gigabyte G1 970 Video Cards and Graphics Dec 29, 2014
    Graphic card (gtx 970) upgrade question. Video Cards and Graphics Dec 28, 2014

3. aaksheytalwar

aaksheytalwar Diamond Member

What is your system config? CPU ram etc?

4. ulster1486

ulster1486 Junior Member

It has 8GB of RAM, 64 bit windows 7, 3.10 GHz Processor, 2TB, quad-core, 6MB L3 cache (if I forgot anything important please tell me as I probably have)

5. Termie

Termie Diamond Member

Can you provide more information about the CPU, such as a model number? I am guess it is the Core i5-2400: http://ark.intel.com/products/52207/Intel-Core-i5-2400-Processor-(6M-Cache-up-to-3_40-GHz)

If so, is this a pre-built system, such as a Dell, HP, or Acer? It has a configuration that would be typical of such a system.

If it is indeed a pre-built, you'll need to be concerned about three issues:
    (1) power supply capacity
    (2) internal space