• Guest, The rules for the P & N subforum have been updated to prohibit "ad hominem" or personal attacks against other posters. See the full details in the post "Politics and News Rules & Guidelines."

Question Upgraded CPU and MOBO now slower

Maxoblah99

Junior Member
May 31, 2020
6
0
6
Hey guys. I recently upgraded just my CPU and Mobo to a 8700k and an Asus rog strix z370 e gaming. My cpu @ 5.0 1.31vcore. the rest of my pc is, evga sc2 1080ti(OC to 80core and 120mem),16gb 3000mhz, samsung 850 evo ssd. hd, 4k monitor, watercooling, windows 10pro. I use msi afterburners OSD to view stats in game. Here is wats going on. I use my pc mostly for fps games. As soon as I installed the new mobo and cpu I fire up my games to see how much faster they would be.I run every game in 4k ultra. I tested BF5, the fps was 70. For BF1 I had 75 fps. Doom eternal I had 108. Battlefield 4 I had 89. I also saw that my CPU usage level was very low. In BF5 it was at 40%. The computer was a lot slower than with my old cpu an mobo.I I tried resetting the bios, that didnt help. I reinstalled my gpu.I have the lastest nviia driver, the lastet bios firmware. Installed all the lastest mobo drivers. All my temps are fine,I dont have a single other issue with my computer. My old mobo is a MSI z270 PC Mate. My cpu was 7700k @4.9. Before my cpu usage is higher and all my framerates are too. Before on BF5 is got 110fps(now 70, BF1 beofre 104(now 75), Doom eternal before 120(now 103) and on BF4 before 120(now 89). So I reinstalled windows. After that I tried all my games again. This time BF5 had 80% cpu usage. All the other games also had a little higher usage. The fps for every game was a little hgiher but stil not as high as before. I had a dram led come on. I ran memtest 86. I had a bunch of errors only in test 6, cpu 8. I replaced the ram with 16gb 3600. Ran memtest again, no errors. I really hope that I don't have to replace my cpu or mobo. I tried a fresh install of windows. i have the latest bios. my gpu usage is 99%. Also I have power options to performance. In Nvidia control i have the power option set to max performance. In the bios i have the cpu set to max performance. in cpu z benchmark my cpu uses 100%. I tried changing the priority in device manager from normal to realtime. That made no difference.
 

RLGL

Golden Member
Jan 8, 2013
1,761
201
106
Possibly this is due to a botched windoze install. Clean the drive with diskpart, do not connect to the net, install windoze,load all system drivers, then the video drivers from a flash drive.
 

Maxoblah99

Junior Member
May 31, 2020
6
0
6
I follow all your steps. I redownloaded games and tested it again. No difference from before. The cpu usage is so low and the games fell so choppy. Also since i got the cpu/mobo my startup times have been so long. I have had fast boot on the whole time. I have a ssd so it should be faster. Yesterday i got a 1tb wd black sn750 nvme. Thats in there now and the stuff slill loads slower
 

Maxoblah99

Junior Member
May 31, 2020
6
0
6
You mention a 4K monitor. Was that part of the upgrade, or was that used on the prior 7700K rig?
No.
I had the same monitor, gpu(same overclock), ssd, psu, ram, cpu cooler, case. The exact same settings and resolutions for windows and games. NOTHING is different now except for the CPU and motherboard. My problem is that with new cpu and mobo. The performance is bad. The current framerates i get are way lower right now. With the old cpu/mobo My framerates in games higher than right now. Also with the new cpu/mobo, it just fells like there is something wrong. THe whole time ive had fast boot on. The old cpu would boot up faster.
 

burninatortech4

Senior member
Jan 29, 2014
349
88
101
Clear the CMOS (either remove the cell battery or short the jumper) and do a full clean install of windows. It might have been your RAM. Let us know what you find!
 
Last edited:

Maxoblah99

Junior Member
May 31, 2020
6
0
6
Clear the CMOS (either removal the cell battery or short the jumper) and do a full clean install of windows. It might have been your RAM. Let us know what you find!
I had my old ram went bad a week after the new cpu went in. I ran memtest and i had lots of errors in test 6 cpu 8. I bough some new 16gb 3600. Ran memtest again and no errors.
 

Maxoblah99

Junior Member
May 31, 2020
6
0
6
Clear the CMOS (either remove the cell battery or short the jumper) and do a full clean install of windows. It might have been your RAM. Let us know what you find!
I cleared the cmos and reflash my bios with the latest version. Installed windows. bf4 runs like it used to. I still have to download bf5. I also am using 445.87 nvidia driver. That was the one i had when my computer was running faster.
 

ASK THE COMMUNITY