Unmountable Boot Volume Error On Clean Install

Discussion in 'Computer Help' started by Carbo, Dec 6, 2012.

  1. Carbo

    Carbo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    5,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    The laptop was running slow and I decided it was time to clean things up and get her running like new again. Backed up everything and wiped the drive using KillDisk.
    Three and a half hours later when the process was done I popped in my Wndows 7 OEM disc only to be greeted with the dreaded Unmountable Boot Volume on that pretty blue screen :confused: . Tried several times but it's the same thing each time.
    What did I screw up? Appreciate any help. Thank you!

    (Dell XPS 15, Western Digital 750GB hard drive)
     
    #1 Carbo, Dec 6, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  2. corkyg

    corkyg Elite Member<br>Super Moderator <br>Peripherals
    Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2000
    Messages:
    25,846
    Likes Received:
    5
    #2 corkyg, Dec 6, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  3. Carbo

    Carbo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    5,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks, Corky. The link is helpful. . .but I'm trying to install an OEM version of Windows 7.
     
    #3 Carbo, Dec 6, 2012
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2012
  4. DJJ760

    DJJ760 Senior member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2000
    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    0
    Boot to the Windows 7 disc. (You may need to change BIOS options to boot to CD.) Can you access the Drive options? Delete/Format/New..?
     
  5. Carbo

    Carbo Diamond Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2000
    Messages:
    5,107
    Likes Received:
    1
    When I try booting off the Windows 7 disc, I see this:
    [​IMG]
    or this:

    [​IMG]

    Nothing else. No other options. Once attempt I did manage to get the Windows loading files screen, only to then quickly receive the Unmountable Boot Volume error.
     
  6. jolancer

    jolancer Senior member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    469
    Likes Received:
    0
    If w7 doesnt allow you to do it for some reason idk never used it. you could just reinitilize it with GParted first
     
  7. lakedude

    lakedude Golden Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,617
    Likes Received:
    0
    Them pics are a bit small for my eyes. Naturally since you wiped the drive you can't boot from the HD anymore so you need to boot from the optical. I can't tell what is going on from the tiny pics but are you having trouble booting from the optical? Are you sure your OEM disk is bootable? Maybe check to see if it is bootable in another computer?