two 3.0Ghz Xeons - one $179, the other is $969 (!?)

Markfw

Moderator Emeritus, Elite Member
May 16, 2002
One is also dual-core and the other quad core.

Lonyo

Lifer
Aug 10, 2002
One runs on a single processor motherboards (775), the other is for multi-processor systems (771).
They charge more for multi-processor CPUs.

ThePiston

Nov 14, 2004
ok, so as far as performance on a small business server, i'd be ok to get the e3110? I'm a desktop gaming builder - I'm new to servers. I just can't bring myself the build a "server" when all of the parts cost 2X as much or more for less performance. I know I'm probably wrong, but someoen try to talk me into building a server with one of the 771 mobos, ECC ram, SCSI, yada yada yada. It'd cost $5K for a simple server for a small 10-client medical office. I could build a desktop that does same thing for $700.

Viper GTS

Lifer
Oct 13, 1999
Originally posted by: ThePiston
ok, so as far as performance on a small business server, i'd be ok to get the e3110? I'm a desktop gaming builder - I'm new to servers. I just can't bring myself the build a "server" when all of the parts cost 2X as much or more for less performance. I know I'm probably wrong, but someoen try to talk me into building a server with one of the 771 mobos, ECC ram, SCSI, yada yada yada. It'd cost $5K for a simple server for a small 10-client medical office. I could build a desktop that does same thing for $700.

Go buy a Dell. Seriously. A PowerEdge 2950 (or the non rack equivalent since you likely don't have a rack) spec'd to meet your needs is what you want, if you are seriously contemplating supporting an office off of a $700 PC you are WAY out of your league.